Kandy SC out to redeem lost pride


Kandy Sports Club created a unique record by dominating the game for several years in all domestic inter-club rugby competitions.

Kandy SC won triple crowns in 1995, 1997, 1999 and 2002 to 2009.

They won the ‘A’ Division league title for 12 consecutive years and won 18 Clifford Cup knock-out titles.

Kandy SC won their inaugural league title in 1992. From the 1992 victory they have been able to clinch a total of 17 league titles within 22 years.

This season the Kandy SC is led by their former captain Sean Wijesinghe, who captained the club to win their last triple crown in 2009.

Sean Wijesinghe is a fantastic third row forward and also led the Sri Lanka national team in 2011 for the Asian Five-Nation Championship held in Sri Lanka.

The success of the sport is mainly the commitment and determination shown by the players.

The current coach, Johan Taylor, guided them to win the league, knock-out and triple crowns on many occasions.

In fact, it was under his coaching that they won a triple crown for the last time and he had a three year break and has come back.

Johan Taylor played most of his rugby in Ireland and is a top level qualified rugby coach who also had a stint in coaching the national side. He is also a top golfer winning many awards in golf.

His efforts are supported by the presence of not less than 45 season players; in addition, there are two South Africans and a Fijian.

And he is well backed by the Rugby Committee headed by Lasantha Wijesuriya a former Captain, led the side to win the triple by being unbeaten,

Convener Nazeer Jamaldeen from Royal College and the Manager is Kapila Silva.

Some of the seniors are in the team Tuan Kishore Jehan, Damith Dissanayake, Sashika Jayawardena, Keerthi Gurusinghe, Asitha Ratnayake, Sean Wijesinghe, Roshan Weeraratne, Fazil Marija, Damien Ratwatte, Pradeep Liyanage, Gayan Weeraratne, Piyumal Manchanayake, Oshan Perera, Mohammed Jabbar, Dharshana Ettipola, Saliya Kumara, Dansha Dayan, Gayan Weeraratne, Shanaka Bandara, Buwanaka Udangamuwa, Thilina Wijesinghe, Lastiha Attangala, Tarindu Chathurana, Richard Dharmapala, Anurudda Wilwara, Dhanushka Dayan, Asitha Ratnayake, Kasun Bandara, Lavanga Perera.

New comers are Sanjaya Ratnayake, Dinuk Perera, Nigel Ratwatte, Arshad Jamaldeen, Dimthri Wijetunga, Yaqhkoob Ali, Fazrul Rahuman, the two South Africans Christoper Clete, Quintion Crocker, and Fijian Eroni Galdolo, are some of the player