Jaffna Kings announce key leadership positions

Lanka Premier League 2021


Jaffna Kings became the first Lanka Premier League (LPL) franchise to announce its leading positions for the LPL 2021. 

Read More : Schedule of Lanka Premier League season 2 released

Accordingly, Ganeshan Vaheesan (Director of Cricket), Thilina Kandambi (Head Coach), Thisara Perera (Captain) and Saranga Wijeyarathne (Director of Corporate Marketing, Communication and Media) will hold key roles in the franchise.

The franchise announced Ganeshan Vaheesan, fondly known as Harry, as the ‘Director of Cricket’. An old boy of D. S. Senanayake College, Colombo, Vaheesan, is an avid cricket enthusiast, player and UKCC Level 3 cricket coach who has held various coaching positions in the UK. Manager of the inaugural LPL winners last year, Harry was instrumental in the smooth operation and execution of the Jaffna franchise.

Thilina Kandambi, the former Sri Lankan National Cricketer who guided the Jaffna Franchise to its victory in 2020, has been retained as head coach. Earlier this year, Kandambi was appointed the Head Coach of Abu Dhabi T10 team ‘Bangla Tigers’. His experience as an international coach and a seasoned former National cricketer will be invaluable to the Jaffna Kings.

Thisara Perera has also been retained in his role of Captain by the franchise. As a world class all-rounder, he has played franchise T20 cricket all around the world for numerous leagues including IPL and PSL.

Read : Jaffna Kings sign Faf du Plessis for LPL 2021

Saranga Wijeyarathne, a leading marketing professional has been appointed as the ‘Director of Corporate Marketing, Communication and Media’. Saranga recently served as Director General of national television broadcaster Sri Lanka Rupavahini, and previously held several key positions in private and national Media, including Wijeya Newspapers and Ceylon Newspapers. His role in the inaugural edition of LPL earned Jaffna Franchise the national and international exposure it deserved.