Isipathana keep their unbeaten record in tact

Dialog Schools Rugby League 2022


Isipathana College made it four out of four to book their spot in the Super Round of the Dialog Schools Rugby League 2022 after beating Dharmaraja College by 26 (4T, 3C) points to 12 (2T, 1C), at Havelock Grounds on Saturday.

Isipathana came off from a moralboosting win over St Peter’s College last week, but they were missing a few of their key players owing to injury. The opening score came from the green machine. They managed to string together a couple of phases using the forwards and got the Rajans to commit in the middle. Then scrum half Sehandu de Costa sent the ball out wide to Wewala Pandith, who touched down near the corner flag. (IC 5 – 0 DCK)

The Rajans responded immediately with a converted try from Saumya Wijesiri. Isipathana College conceded three back to back penalties, and from the line out, the Rajans pushed closer to the try line. The ball was sent out wide and Wijesiri touched down for the Rajans. He added extras with the conversion. (IC 5 – 7 DCK)

However, the lead lasted only for a couple of minutes after debutant Shahid Zumri, who charged down the kick, followed it to the try line and jumped over. 

Isipathana were down to 14 when Dinida Thenul was sinbinned for a high tackle. Despite the advantage, Rajans failed to score any points before the break. 

Halftime: Isipathana College 12 (2T, 2C) – Dharmaraja College 7 (1T, 2C) 

In the second half, Isipathana dominated possession. The Rajans started off the second half conceding a yellow card to N. Wijerathne for a late charge. It paved the way for Isipathana to find the third try through Kenula Mihisara. It was the forwards who put in the hard work to allow Mihisara to jump over. (IC 19 – 7 DCK)

The hosts managed to secure the bonus point try through Kavin Tharusha, who barged over under the post. Malith Mihisara added the extras. (IC 26 – 7 DCK) 

The Rajans found some consolation in the dying moments of the game through Shehan Rajapaksha, who found the whitewash down the line.

Full Time: Isipathana College 26 (4T, 3C)– Dharmaraja College 12 (2T, 1C)

  • NDB Player of the Match: Venura Sangeeth Kodagoda (IC)

Point Scorers for Isipathana College:

Wewela Pandith 1T, Kavin Tharusha 1T, Shahid Zumri 1T, Kenula Mihisara 1T, Malith Mihisara 3C

Points Scored for Dharmaraja College:

Saumya Wijesiri 1T 1C , Shehan Rajapaksha 1T