Isipathana College retained the “Abdul Jabbar” shield for yet another year, recording an easy 50 points (8T,5C) to 7 points (1T,1C) win over traditional rivals Thurstan College in their 48th Annual Rugby encounter played at the Havelock Park earlier today.

Thurstan College kicked off processing in this traditional encounter where Isipathana College dominated possession during early exchanges and Supun Tharusha opened up the scoring for the green machines. Pathana hit back making use of the few penalties from Thurstan, where a simple rolling maul got them over the line and prop Vimash Waranpura scored. Skipper Manelka Rubayru added the extra points. (IC 12-00 TC)

The pace of the game became a tad slow when Thurstan College had a few  chances but it was again the green machine who was deadly with the ball in hand as Supun Tharusha had easy touch yet again. While a late tackle by the Thurstan winger Dimuth Tharaka resulted in a send off to the bin. Few minutes later Chamodh Sandaruwan scored the 4th try of the game as he overpowered three defenders to score with Rubayru converting the try. (IC 24-00 TC)

Sandaruwan doubled his points tally as he found a gap which was too powerful for the Thurstan full back to cover.  A fend off from Sandaruwan was enough to find the white wash while Rubayru added the extras in the brink of half time.

Half time : Isipathana College 31 (5T,3C) – 00 Thurstan College

Thurstan College dominated the proceedings early on in the second half  but couldn’t add the finishing touches to the promising moves. Thurstan got another advantage when Manoj Gautham was sin binned for foul play as the game moved on very slowly since Isipathana didn’t live up to the expectations in the first 10 minutes.

Anjana Kulasekara brought some light to a dull second half as silky stepping found a gap in the Thurstan defense and powerful fend off to the full back got him over the line. Renuja Silva took on the kicking duties from Rubayru and was successful.

Isipathana were down to thirteen when Janith Serasinghe got a yellow card and Thurstan College finally managed to cross the Isipathana try line when skipper Mohamed Riskan found the white wash. Tharusha Dharamadasa bisected the uprights. (IC 38-07 TC)

Thurstan College conceded another yellow card for continuous infringements as Saviru Nimsika took a ten minute breather at the bin. Pathana managed to score two quick tries in quick succession as Nepul Athukorala went over first while a trade mark Pathana try followed using their backs. Supun Tharusha was too hot to handle with his pace as a timely offload to Manula Rathnayake as he went on to score the eighth try for the green machine. Anjana Kulasekara converted the try as the referee blew the long whistle to bring the game to an end with Isipathana winning  the Abdul Jabber shield for the 46th time.

Full Time: Isipathana College 50 (8T,5C) – 07 (1T,1C) Thurstan College Man of the Match: Supun Tharusha (Isipathana College)


Isipathana College: Tries from Supun Tharusha (2), Chamodh Sandaruwan (2), Vimash Waranpura, Anjana Kulasekara, Nepul Athukorala, Manula Rathnayake & Conversions by Manelka Rubayru (3), Anjana Kulasekara, Renuja Silva.

Send offs: (Yellow) Manoj Gautham & Janith Serasinghe

Thurstan College: Try from Mohamed Riskan & Conversion by Tharusha Dharamadasa

Send offs: (Yellow) Dimuth Tharaka & Saviru Nimsika