60th Battle of the Brothers to kick-start March Madness

60th Battle of the Brothers


Isipathana College and Thurstan College are ready to kick off the 60th Battle of the Brothers, set to be held on the 24th and 25th of February at the Sinhalese Sports Club Grounds, Colombo.

Out of previous 59 battles, 48 matches have ended in draws, while the Thurstanites have won 6 encounters. Isipathana College are behind on the tally 4 wins.

2019 was the last time the encounter produced a result, when Thurstan, lead by Sandaru Dias clinched a 10-wicket win. The last time Isipathana won was way back in 1999 under Krishantha Jayawardene’ captaincy.

Thurstan College

Wicket-keeper batter Shanikya Deshapriya, who is in his third year, will lead Thurstan College this time around.

In the 2022/23 season, Thurstan has won 2 out of 13 two-day matches outright, as well as 6 first innings wins. In addition, another match has ended with no result. Defeats include two first innings defeats and two outright losses.

Vice-captain Vihas Thevmika has been their most valuable player this season. The 17-year-old middle-order batsman, has scored 527 runs with 4 half-centuries this season. That is in addition to the 68 wickets he has taken with the ball.

On the other hand, captain Shanikya Deshapriya, has scored more than 600 runs this season, Thenuka Devapriya, has scored more than 400 runs, and Tanuga Palihawadana, has taken 54 wickets.

Heshan Thilakaratne, an experienced coach, is the Head Coach of Thurstan College this year with Dumila Perera acting as the assistant coach. Malaka Silva is the teacher in charge of the Thurstan College Cricket Team.


Shanikya Deshapriya (C/Wk), Vihas Thewmika (VC), Ramika Sonal, Uddep Edirisinghe, Vishwa Dananjaya, Thanuga Palihawadana, Thalisha Nanayakkara, Thanuja Rajapaksha, Thenuka Dewapriya, Navindu Dulan, Duvidu Nishan, Navindu Fernando, Azeem Mohomd, Ushan Imesh, Kushan Kavinda, Gagana Perera

Isipathana College

Naveen Kanishka is set to lead Isipathana College this season. Kanishka is also captaining the Isipathana College Rugby Team. This is just the 2nd instance that a Isipathana College player has been picked to lead two sports teams in the same year.

Isipathana College has performed well in this 2-day season. Of the 9 matches they have played, they have recorded 6 first innings victories with an outright win against Dharmapala College. Apart from that, the Pathanians have one 1st innings loss and 1 outright defeat.

Themiya Gunaratne, who has scored more than 550 runs in 9 matches, has been the top run-getter for Isipathana College this season.

In addition, Yuneth Seneviratne and Captain Naveen Kanishka have scored more than 450 runs. The performance of these two players, will be really crucial for Isipathana College in the upcoming big match.

Sithuka Gunawardane, the left-arm spinner who has claimed 45 wickets in 9 matches, will be the key with the ball alongside fast bowlers Kevin Samuel and Dasith Senal who have crossed the 35-wicket mark this season.

Pradeep Nishantha is the Head Coach of Isipathana College this year. He has been the Head Coach of Isipathana College Cricket Team during 2013-2016 season and for the past 2 years. Duleep Sri Vinoj is the assistant coach of the team.


Naveen Kanishka (C), Sithuka Gunawardane (VC), Tharusha Nethsara (Wk), Themiya Gunarathne, Yesith Kalupahana, Sahan Viraj, Tharushka Ashel, Lesandu Kalpage, Yuneth Senevirathne, Dasith Senal, Kevin Samuel, Dushan Malinga, Sanija Rahal, Pawara Gimhana (Wk), Malisha Sandaruwan

Don’t miss any action from the 60th Battle of the Brothers; watch LIVE on ThePapare.com, Dialog TV Channel No. 22 and Dialog Viu app.