Record breaking Chahal, Jaiswal bring RR to top three

Indian Premier League 2023


Records tumbled in Kolkata as Rajasthan Royals (RR) climbed to number three on the points table in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 after registering a 9-wicket victory over the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on Thursday at the Eden Gardens.

A Yuzvendra Chahal four-wicket haul and Yashasvi Jaiswal’s record-breaking half-century propelled Rajasthan Royals to an emphatic victory.

Chasing 150 to win, Rajasthan Royals couldn’t have got off to a better start. Yashasvi Jaiswal’s batting had confidence written all over it as the in-form opener hammered 26-run off the very first over.

Andre Russell’s excellent direct-hit provided the opening breakthrough for KKR as Jos Buttler was out without scoring.

However, Yashasvi Jaiswal was unstoppable with the bat and the RR opener notched the fastest fifty ever in the history of IPL. Rajasthan Royals were cruising in the chase as they moved to 78/1 after 6 overs.

The hundred was up for Rajasthan Royals in the tenth over as Yashasvi Jaiswal continued his dominant aggressive batting display. RR skipper Sanju Samson also jumped on the bandwagon and was dealing in boundaries.

It took only 56 balls for the Jaiswal-Samson duo to stitch a hundred-run stand for the second wicket. With more than 6 overs to spare, the Rajasthan Royals completed the chase and Yashasvi Jaiswal remained unbeaten on 98* as the visitors registered a comprehensive 9-wicket victory in Kolkata.

Earlier, Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to field first in Kolkata. The scoring opportunities were restricted for openers Jason Roy and Rahmanullah Gurbaz courtesy of RR’s strong pace attack. Shimron Hetmyer took a magnificent catch near the ropes off Trent Boult’s bowling to put RR on top early in the innings.

Gurbaaz then picked up the scoring rate with two fine lofted maximums but the KKR opener became Trent Boult’s second victim inside the powerplay.

The powerplay belonged to RR but KKR had two experienced batters in the form of captain Nitish Rana and Venkatesh Iyer in the middlle, who began to rebuild. The duo formed a vital partnership and upped the ante after scoring 18 runs off the Ashwin over.

KKR were placed at 76/2 at the halfway mark before Yuzvendra Chahal not only put an end to the partnership but also created history by becoming the leading IPL wicket-taker of all time. The hundred was up for KKR in the 13th over as Venkatesh Iyer continued his fearless batting display.

KM Asif entered the wicket-taking party by dismissing the dangerous Andre Russell who was caught at backward point. Venkatesh Iyer reached his half century but it was Yuzvendra Chahal who continued to shine in Kolkata to dismiss both – Iyer & Shardul Thakur.

The RR leg-spinner finished with a fine four-wicket haul while the Kolkata Knight Riders finished with a first-innings total of 149/8 after Sandeep Sharma scalped a wicket on the final delivery of the innings.