Invincible Kandy cruise through to clinch Club 7’s title

Dialog Club Rugby 7’s 2019 - Day 02


Kandy Sports Club made easy work of their opponents, remaining unbeaten, to clinch the Dialog Club Rugby 7’s title, worked off at the Racecourse International Stadium.

A young CR & FC outfit failed to match up to Kandy’s intensity as the Hill capital side defeated the Reds 24-14 in the Cup Final. 

The first half was dominated by Kandy Sports Club as tries from former CR captain Kavindu Perera and Lavanga Perera put them in the driver’s seat. (Kandy 12-00 CR)

With time running out in the first half, CR & FC skipper Reeza Rafaideen scored after the hooter to keep the Reds in the fight, however, second half tries for Kandy sealed the game with CR having a mountain to climb, with time fast running out. (Kandy 24-07 CR)

Former Royal College centre, Janidu Dilshan showed his capabilities with a consolation try after the hooter as the young CR outfit failed to dismantle dominant Kandy Sports Club as they sealed the first piece of silverware for the 2019/20 club rugby season.

Fulltime: Kandy Sports Club 24 (4T 2C) defeated CR & FC 14 (2T 2C)

Prior to the main event – the Cup final – Air Force B defeated Malay CC 24-00 to claim the Shield segment while Police ‘B’ defeated Army ‘B’ 12-7 to take home the Bowl segment as Navy ‘A’ narrowly defeated Air Force ‘A’ 24-19 to be crowned Shield winners.

Shield FinalMalay C C024Air Force S C “B”
Bowl FinalArmy SC “B”712Police S C ” B “
Plate FinalAir Force S C “A”1924Navy SC “A”

Earlier in the day, proceedings kicked off with the bowl/ shield quarter finals Army ‘B’, CH & FC ‘B’, Navy ‘B’ and Police ‘B’ all won their respective games to proceed through to the Bowl semifinals while the losers, Malay CC, Galle RFC, Peterson SC and Air Force ‘B’ were demoted to the Shield segment.

Army SC “B”2212Malay C C
C H & F C “B”3819Galle R F C
Navy SC “B”387Peterson S C
Police S C ” B” 195Air Force S C “B”

The Cup/ plate quarter finals saw Havelock Sports Club, Kandy Sports Club, CR & FC and Police ‘A’ progress at the expense of Army ‘A’, Air Force ‘A’, Navy ‘A’ and defending champions CH & FC ‘A’. Meanwhile the losers made their way to the plate segment while Havelock’s lined up against Kandy in the first semifinal as Police ‘A’ went up against CR & FC.

Havelock SC247Army SC “A”
Kandy SC320Air Force S C “A”
Police S C “A”2812CH & FC “A”
C R & F C177Navy SC “A”

Malay CC and Air Force ‘B’ made their way into the shield final, ending the day for Galle RFC and Peterson SC.

Malay C C335Galle R F C
Peterson S C1240Air Force S C “B”

Meanwhile Army ‘B’ and Police ‘B’ paved their way into the bowl final, defeating CH & FC ‘B’ and Navy ‘B’ respectively.

Army SC “B”1912C H & F C “B”
Navy SC “B”1019Police S C ” B “

Air Force ‘A’ and Navy ‘A’ defeated Army ‘A’ and the defending champions CH & FC ‘A’, making their way into Plate final.

Army SC “A”1521Air Force S C “A”
CH & FC “A”533Navy SC “A”

The most watched and awaited Cup semifinals saw Kandy steamroll Havelock Sports Club 29-5 to be the first team to qualify for the Cup final. 

Police Sports Club turned up fighting against CR & FC, however, the Cops ran out of gas, falling prey to CR as the Reds set up a final showdown against Kandy.

Havelock SC529Kandy SC
Police S C “A”1226C R & F C

Kavindu Perera’s transition into life at his home town Kandy couldn’t go any better with the speedster winning the highest try scorer award with 8 tries and the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award to cap off a successful tournament.

Full days results:

QF-Bowl/Shield – 1Army SC “B”22vs12Malay C C
QF-Bowl/Shield – 2C H & F C “B”38vs19Galle R F C
QF-Bowl/Shield – 3Navy SC “B”38vs7Peterson S C
QF-Bowl/Shield – 4Police S C ” B “19vs5Air Force S C “B”
QF-Cup /Plate- 1Havelock SC24vs7Army SC “A”
QF-Cup /Plate- 2Kandy SC32vs0Air Force S C “A”
QF-Cup /Plate- 3Police S C “A”28vs12CH & FC “A”
QF-Cup /Plate- 4C R & F C17vs7Navy SC “A”
Shield Semi-1Malay C C33vs5Galle R F C
Shield Semi-2Peterson S C12vs40Air Force S C “B”
Bowl Semi-1Army SC “B”19vs12C H & F C “B”
Bowl Semi-2Navy SC “B”10vs19Police S C ” B “
Plate Semi-1Army SC “A”15vs21Air Force S C “A”
Plate Semi-2CH & FC “A”5vs33Navy SC “A”
Cup Semi-1Havelock SC5vs29Kandy SC
Cup Semi-2Police S C “A”12vs26C R & F C
Shield FinalMalay C C0vs24Air Force S C “B”
Bowl FinalArmy SC “B”7vs12Police S C ” B “
Plate FinalAir Force S C “A”19vs24Navy SC “A”
Cup FinalKandy SC24vs14

C R & F C