Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala triumph at 29th Schools Netball Championship

Milo Champion Cup - Super 16 Schools Netball Championship

Milo Champion Cup - Super 16 Schools Netball Championship

Nestlé Milo joined forces with the Sri Lanka Schools Netball Association for the 29th year running, to conduct the much-anticipated final rounds of the Sri Lanka Schools’ Netball Championship 2022.

Widely considered the most noteworthy tournament in the school netball calendar, the championship was organised under the guidance of the Ministry of Education, paving the way for over 15,000 promising netball stars to showcase their skills on a national platform.

Held on 11, 12 and 13 of November in Wennappuwa, the teams which qualified from the centre-level matches went head-to-head at the finals, with overall champions Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala taking home the coveted Milo Trophy for the 13th consecutive year.

The Sri Lanka national netball team, who emerged as the Asian Netball Champions 2022, also graced the event on the first day, inspiring the young participants. Having been part of this journey as students themselves, the team’s success stories were undoubtedly a great encouragement for budding netball stars aspiring to represent Sri Lanka in the future.

“Nestlé Milo has always believed in the importance of physical activity and the unique values that only sports can teach our future generations. Therefore, we are honoured to continue our support towards the development of grassroots sports through platforms such as this and nourish student-athletes to be the best versions of themselves. We hope the championship offered our young talent the opportunity to develop their skills, whilst inspiring countless other schoolgirls across the country to engage and excel in sports,” said Nestlé Lanka Vice President – Corporate and Regulatory Affairs Bandula Egodage.

Awards List:

  • Champions: Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala
  • 1st Runners up: Musaeus College
  • 2nd Runners up: Kaluthara Balika Vidyalaya
  • Most outstanding Player of the tournament: Hiruni Heshani – HFC Kurunegala
  • Best Shooter: Bhashi Udagedara – HFC Kurunegala
  • Best Defender: Nethanga Gunarathne – Musaeus College
  • Best Center court player: Nethasha Dias – HFC Kurunegala

>> More Netball news <<