Hazard easily wins Belgium’s Footballer of the Year Award


Chelsea’s Eden Hazard has been voted Belgium Player of the Year by the fans while, Premier League rivals Kevin De Bruyne and Romelu Lukaku sit second and third respectively.

Hazard picked up an impressive 10,280 votes, while De Bruyne received 4,710 and Lukaku earned 3,223.

De Bruyne, regarded as the most outstanding player in City’s soaring run this season, with six goals and nine assists in 21 games, was deemed by the Belgian fans to be good enough for only the second spot as they considered Hazard to have enjoyed the better year.

Hazard, who won the Premier League with Chelsea in May, also enjoyed a fine 2017 for his national team, helping Belgium qualify for next summer’s highly-anticipated World Cup in Russia in emphatic fashion.

The other nominees were Michy Batshuayi, Christian Benteke, Yannick Carrasco, Nacer Chadli, Thibaut Courtois, Marouane Fellaini, Thorgan Hazard, Dries Merten, Thomas Meunier, Youri Tielemans and Jan Vertonghen.