From Twin 200s to 10-fers: Extraordinary domestic stats explained


The Major Tier A League of the SLC Premier League tournament concluded yesterday (10th February) after 67 first-class matches in 73 days, crowning Colombo Cricket Club as champions for the 6th time in its 72-year history. This tournament will be remembered for its special place in the Sri Lanka Cricket history books for many reasons. In case you missed it, we have briefed it for you!!

Photo Album: CCC | Cricket Team Preview 2018/19

Run-fests and bowlers’ nightmares

  • Highest accumulated team total

The record for the ‘most runs in an FC match in Sri Lanka accounting for both innings by a team’ was renewed by Nondescripts Cricket Club at P. Sara Oval Colombo this year.

Record – 1023 runs by NCC vs SSC (444 & 579/6d)

Previous Best – 952 by Sri Lanka vs India in 1997

  • Highest match aggregates

3rd, 4th and 5th highest match aggregates (sum of runs in every innings) in Sri Lankan First Class history were recorded this season.

Match Aggregate Match Season
1613 Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 2012/13
1612 CCC vs SSC 2015/16
1560 Chilaw Marians CC vs Colts CC 2018/19
1512 Colts CC vs Tamil Union CAC 2018/19
1503 NCC vs SSC 2018/19


Read: Consistent CCC emerge SLC Premier League Tier A champions

  • 1000+ Runs Club

Four batmen have gone past the special 1000-run mark in this season. (Oshada Fernando – 1181, Pathum Nissanka – 1088, Sachithra Serasinghe & Priyamal Perera – 1001)

Since 2000, batsmen have broken the 1000 run ceiling only 12 times. 4 of them came in 2018/19. This is the only time since 2000 where 4 batsmen have passed 1000 runs in a single season.

Century of Centuries

  • Most 100s since 2000

There have been a staggering 129 tons in the Tier A tournament in this season alone. This is the greatest number of 100s in a domestic FC season in Sri Lanka since 2000. With the addition of the centuries from the ongoing Tier-B tournament, 2018/19 will easily see the highest number of 100s in a FC season in Sri Lanka ever.

Doubles and more doubles

  • Most Doubles

The 2018/19 Premier League tier-A season saw 15 double centuries which is the most 200s in a season in Sri Lanka.

Kaushal Silva 273 Promod Maduwantha 217 Pathum Nissanka 206*
Bhanuka Rajapaksa 268 Tharanga Paranavitana 215* Priyamal Perera 206*
Oshada Fernando 234 Sameera de Zoysa 215 Sachithra Serasinghe 204
Angelo Perera 231 Promod Maduwantha 212 Angelo Perera 201
Avishka Fernando 223 Kaushal Silva 210 Priyamal Perera 200*

This is an impressive record as the previous best was 11 double centuries in 2012/13 season in 91 matches to this season’s 15 in 67 matches.

  • Twin Doubles

NCC captain Angelo Perera achieved a unique feat in cricket as he racked up 2 double centuries in the same match, scoring 201 in the first innings and 231 in the second innings.

This had only happened once in cricket history before (Arthur Fagg (Kent) -244, 202* vs Essex in 1938)

  • Rapid Doubles

Former Royalist Bhanuka Rajapaksha secured the record for the fastest double ton by a Sri Lankan with his blazing 268 off 173 balls vs SL Ports Authority CC. He reached the magical 200 figure in 129 deliveries.

This sits at 6th place on fastest double centuries in FC history.

The previous best by a Sri Lankan was 161-ball knock by then Moors SC captain Dilhara Lokuhettige vs NCC in Feb 2007.

Last week, Bhanuka Rajapaksa scored the fastest first class double century by a Sri Lankan#ClubCricket ICYMI▶️

Posted by ThePapare Cricket on Tuesday, 5 February 2019


Move aside Sanga!

  • Highest match aggregate by a player

The above-mentioned achievement by Angelo Perera is also the highest total by a single player in a match for Sri Lanka. His match total of 432 surpassed Kumar Sangakkara’s 424 aggregate in the Chittagong Test in 2014.

Perera’s feat is the 8th highest in FC cricket overall.

Boundaries Galore

  • Most boundaries in a season

Since the 2013/14 domestic season when the new Tier A Super Eight and Plate structure was introduced, the most boundaries have been scored in the 2018/19 season. (Fours – 6684, Sixes – 1160)

Since the dawn of this millennium, the 2018/19 season has the highest average boundaries(4s+6s) per match of 117.07. (An average is taken because the number of matches in a season fluctuates from time to time).

  • Most Sixes in an innings by a player

Bhanuka Rajapaksha’s brutal knock of 268 off 173 balls vs SL Ports Authority CC saw him smash 19 towering sixes to set a new Sri Lankan record for the most sixes in an FC innings. He broke the previous record of 17 sixes by Oshada Fernando which was achieved in the same season.

These two batsmen are placed 3rd and 4th respectively in the all-time list for most sixes in an FC innings.

The pair also secured the Sri Lanka record for most sixes in an FC match too. (19 sixes each)

The previous best for Sri Lanka before this season was 15 sixes by Geeth Kumara vs SL Air Force SC in 2014/15.

Read More : Bhanuka Rajapaksa slams career-best 268

Rare silver lining for the bowlers

  • 10-fer in an innings

Left arm spinner, Malinda Pushpakumara achieved the rare feat of taking all the 10 wickets in an innings when he restricted Saracens Sports Club to 113 runs this season.

This will go down as only the second 10-fer by a Sri Lankan, the first being by Promodya Wickramasinghe who took 10 wickets vs Kaluthara Physical Culture Center in 1991/92.

  • A Hat-trick!!

Chaturanga De Silva bagged a hat-trick in match between NCC and Moors SC. This is the first Sri Lankan hat-trick after Herath’s heroics vs Australia at Galle in 2016.