FFSL sacks National Coaches



The Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) today (27th July) has removed the coaches of the national side.

The three removed coaches are, head coach Dudley Steinwall, assistant coach Devasagayam Rajamani and goalkeeping coach Mahinda Galagedara. The FFSL confirmed the decision through a media release.

“Please be informed that the coaching staff of Senior National Team were withdrawn from services as the National Team would not engage in any international matches in the near future,” the media release mentioned.

“The SAFF Football Championship which was scheduled to be held in December 2017 had been postponed indefinitely as the National Team of India has not confirmed their participation yet,” it went onto say.

There had been rumours that the FFSL had been mulling the removal of the coaches but the decision comes as a surprise, given the fact that Dudley Steinwall had only led the side on one tour, even though he had been working as the head coach since April 2016. The decision reflects more on an administration decision rather than a decision taken on performance.

Dudley Steinwall appointed coach of Sri Lanka

Former Sri Lanka and Renown SC captain Dudley Steinwall has been appointed…

Steinwall talked about International friendlies at home and away after he was appointed but none were accommodated by the FFSL.

It is believed that the decision to sack the coaches had been taken by the recently appointed National Teams Management committee headed by Major General Athula Kodippilly.

A source close to the FFSL mentioned,

“We don’t think the coaches that were there were suited for the job. FFSL wants to have a long-term plan.”

ThePapare.com also understands that the FFSL are thinking of hiring a local coach, in which back to back Dialog Champions League winning Colombo FC head coach Mohamed Roomy and Renown SC head coach Mohamed Amanulla are front runners.

ThePapare.com’s efforts to contact Dudley Steinwall proved futile.

Who do you think should be the next head coach of the Sri Lanka National Football team?