Eight teams unbeaten on Day one of Schools’ 7s; Quarter-finals tomorrow

Dialog Schools Rugby League 2022


Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Association (SLSRFA) brought the hammer down on the Under 19 Schools’ Rugby season today with the Under 19 Division 1 Schools’ Rugby 7s competition, held at the Nittawela Rugby Stadium with the participation of 24 teams.

All A division teams secured quarter final spots except St.Anthony’s, who went down to D. S. Senanayake. Isipathana looked like the tournament favorites with two thumping victories over their group rivals. D. S. Senanayake impressed and so did Royal College, with both having comprehensive victories over their group rivals. Vidyartha College was another school who punched above the weight class to secure themselves a quarter-final spot. St. Peter’s and St. Joseph’s also ended the first day unbeaten.

Day two promises to have many more close matchups after a day one filled with a lot of one-sided encounters.

The results of the concluded matches were as follows.

Isipathana College 48-00 Moratu Maha Vidyalaya
Dharmaraja College 54-00 Panadura Sri Sumangala
Vidyaratha College 47-00 Nalanda College
Wesley College 43-00 Carey College
St.Joseph’s’ College 38-00 Piliyandala Central
St.Peter’s College 40-00 Rahula College
St.Anthony’s College 38-00 Dewapathiraja College
Royal College 33-05 Piyarathna College
St. Sylvester’s College 29-07 Moratu Vidyalaya
Lumbini College 39-00 Panadura Sri Sumangala
St. Aloysius’ College 07-05 Nalanda College
St. Benedict’s College 24-00 Carey College
Maliyadeva College 14-00 Piliyandala Central
D. S. Senanayake College 37-00 Rahula College
Ananda College 31-00 Dewapathiraja College
Isipathana College 41-00 Piyarathna College
Vidyartha College 36-00 Lumbini College
Wesley College 33-05 St. Aloysius’ College
St. Joseph’s College 46-00 St.Benedict’s College
St .Peter’s College 41-00 Maliyadeva College
St.Anthony’s College 07-19 D. S. Senanayake College
Royal College 38-00 Ananda College


The Cup quarter-finals will feature the following schools after their stellar performances in the group stages.

01st QF – Isipathana College Vs Dharmaraja College

02nd QF – Vidyartha College Vs Wesley College

03rd QF – St.Joseph’s College Vs St.Peter’s College

04th QF – D. S. Senanayake College Vs Royal College

The Bowl quarter-finals will feature the following schools.

01st QF – St. Sylvester’s College Vs Panadura Sri Sumangala College

02nd QF – Lumbini College Vs St. Aloysius College

03rd QF – St. Benedict’s College Vs Maliyadeva College

04th QF – St. Anthony’s College Vs Ananda College