The Asia Rugby Championship (ARC) division one tournament will be held in Ipoh, Malaysia from 14th – 20th May. The national selectors led by Michael Jayasekara named the touring 25 players short while ago.

Six players were cut down from the 31 man squad namely Radeesha Senavirathne (Police SC), Damith Dissanayake (Kandy SC), Gayan Jayamanna & Sashan Mohamed (CR&FC), Stefan Gregory (Navy SC), Sudam Sooriarachchi (Havelock SC) and they will be the stand by players.

The debutants for the XV’s version are Taariq Salih (CR&FC), Ashan Darling, Nishon Perera, Umesh Madhushan (Havelock SC), Joel Perera (Police SC), Thilina Wijesinghe (Kandy SC), Richard Dharmapala (Kandy SC) and his brother Richie Dharmapala of (Navy SC)

Umesh Madhushan (left) and Suhiru Anthony (right) at training
Umesh Madhushan (left) and Suhiru Anthony (right) at training
Richie Dharmapala passing to Lavanga Perera
Richie Dharmapala passing to Lavanga Perera

Related : Roshan Weerarathne to lead the Tuskers in Malaysia

Salih, Nishon and Madhushan all played for the junior Sri Lanka U19 in 2015 and this tour will give them a lot of experience.

Roshan Weerarathne will have this youth and experience mixed players but the main concern is the key player Danushka Ranjan is not 100% fit as he is down with a viral flu. However  everyone is hopeful of him getting fit before departure next week.

Sri Lanka Tuskers will play Philippines on the 14th followed by UAE on the 17th and lock horn with the hosts on the 20th May.

Related : Fijian Coach has belief in Tuskers

The Squad

From Kandy SC – Roshan Weerarathne (C), Fazil Marija, Danushka Ranjan, Lavanga Perera, Richard Dharmapala, Jason Dissanayake, Thilina Wijesinghe, Ganuka Dissanayake, Suhiru Anthony

From Havelock SC – Dushmantha Priyadarshana, Sharo Fernando, Prasath Madusanka, Umesh Madhushan, Ashan Darling, Nishon Perera, Niroshan Fernando

From Navy SC – Sajith Saranga, Sathya Ranathunga, Chanaka Chandimal , Lee Keegel, Richie Dharmapala

From CR&FC – Omalka Gunarathne, Taariq Salih

From Army SC – Asoka Jayalal

From Police SC – Joel Perera

  • Coach – Fereti Verebula
  • Asst Coach – Rajeew Perera
  • Manager – Rohan Chinthaka