Dunith Wellalage pilots Joes to victory; Santhush tons for Peter’s


Five matches in the Singer Schools U-19 Division I two-day cricket tournament 2017/18 conducted today around the island.

St. Joseph’s College vs De Mazenod College

After restricting the visitors for a paltry 94, the Josephians had the chance of notching up a victory in the second day. The lads from Kandana put up a better effort in the second innings by making 254 as they drag the game late in to second day evening. However, the hosts chase down the target in the 4th innings losing 6 wickets in the group ‘D’ encounter played at Darley road.

Left-arm spinner Dunith Wellalage was the architect for the Josephians as he claimed a match-bag of 11 wickets for 124 runs.

Brief Scores

De Mazenod College – 94 (32) Pasindu Ragamuninda 28*, Nadun Dilshan 27, Dunith Wellalage 6/32, Ashen Daniel 3/20 & 254 (60.1) Mithila Geeth 54, Pasindu Ragamunindran 51, Praveen Fonseka 45, Nimna Fernando 32, Mithul Senarath 29, Dunith Wellalage 5/92, Lakshan Gamage 2/42

St. Joseph’s College – 254 (49.3) Revan Kelly 68, Lakshan Gamage 67, Johanne De Zilva 42, Sachintha Mahindasinghe 23, Saliya Jude 4/49, Praveen Fonseka 3/31, Romal Fernando 3/54 & 95/6 (23.1) Sachintha Mahindasinghe 28*, Mithila Geeth 4/52.

Result – St. Joseph’s College won by 4 wickets

Thurstan College vs St. Thomas College, Matara

Left-arm spinner Sandaru Dias claimed 8 for 30 in the second innings to give Thurstan College a 10 wicket win in the group ‘A’ encounter which ended at Thurstan grounds. Sawan Kankanamge made a solid 90 to give advantage in the opening day as the hosts chase down 26 in the fourth innings to demolish the lads from Matara.

Brief Scores

St. Thomas’ College, Matara – 171 (68.5) Tharusha Kavindya 52, Lahiru Dilshan 35, Nipun Lakshan 6/36, Danushka Fernando 3/43 & 101 (39) Lahiru Dilshan 34, Mishal Amoda 29, Sandaru Dias 8/30, Ayesh Harshana 2/30

Thurstan College – 247 (71.2) Sawan Kankanamge 90, Nipun Lakshan 48, Nishan Wickramarachchi 29, Imesh Viranga 20, Sachira Rashmika 3/86, Lahiru Dilshan 2/41 & 26/0 (2.5)

Result – Thurstan College won by 10 wickets

S. Thomas’ College, Mount Lavinia vs Prince of Wales College

Been asked to bat first, the Thomians struggled their way to a modest 144 all out with the help of Maneesha Rupasinghe who stroked a classy half-ton in the traditional encounter which commenced at Mount Lavinia. In reply, the Cambrians knocked out for a disappointing 86 inside 45 overs as the hosts took the advantage.

Coming in to the second essay, the Thomians lost 3 quick wickets at close of play and they are 82 runs ahead going in to the second day tomorrow.

Brief Scores

S. Thomas College – 144 (41.4) Maneesha Rupasinghe 71, Dulith Gunarathna 27, Sandun Fernando 5/33, Kunchana Perera 3/14 & 24/3 (12) Kaumal Nanayakkara 2/12.

Prince of Wales College – 86 (44.2) Savindu Peris 34, Vishwa Chathuranga 26, Shannon Fernando 5/36, Dulith Gunarathna 4/18.

St. Peter’s College vs Dharmapala College

The Peterite skipper Santhush Gunathilaka was the highlight of the group ‘C’ encounter which began at Bambalapitiya. The hosts posted a formidable 282 with Gunathilaka making an outstanding 129. in reply, the visitors lost two wickets at close of play.

Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief Scores

St. Peters’ College – 282/8d (78) Santhush Gunathilake 129*, Nipunaka Fonseka 42, Sulakshana Fernando 42, Dilshan de Silva 3/74, Chamindu Samarasinghe 3/94.

Dharmapala College – 50/2 (20) Shivan Perera 2/04.’

Ananda College vs Maliyadeva College

Been asked to bat first the Anandians took full use of it as they posted 297 all out inside 62 overs. Daminda Reshan (100) and Shamal Irshan (89*) are the main contributors as they took honors over the visiting Maliyadeva college in the group ‘D’ encounter commenced today at Ananda grounds.

Match will continue tomorrow for day two.

Brief Scores

Ananda College – 297 (61.2) Daminda Reshan 100, Shamal Irshan 89*, Kalana Wijesiri 27, Lahiru Hiranya 24, Brian Karunanayake 4/62, Dulaj Ranathunga 2/56, Maduranga Naveen 2/70

Maliyadewa College – 40/1 (16) Muditha Premadasa 20*