A 5-Year Legacy of Unbeaten Glory for HNB

Dialog National Netball Tournament 2024

Dialog National Netball Tournament 2024

The Dialog National Netball Tournament 2024 took place on the 20th and 21st of January at the Albert F. Pieris Stadium in Wennappuwa, with the participation of about 40 teams from around the country.

The first section of the tournament draw was played in leagues which consisted of 8 groups from A to H respectively, where the winner of each qualified to play on the Quarter Finals.

>>Photos – Dialog National Netball Championship 2023 – Day 01

After a nerve-wracking battle in the Semi Finals, the Navy team and Ports Authority had to settle for a 3rd place battle, whilst Team HNB and the Sri Lanka Air Force yet again fought for their title, with HNB fighting to maintain a winning streak, and the Air Force being determined to turn back the clock to rewrite a legacy once and for all.

>>Photos – Dialog National Netball Championship 2023 – Day 02

After the end of the third-place match in which the Navy team emerged victorious with a score of 61 to 40, the Final was to be commence at 3.30 pm in the Indoor Courts of the complex. Both teams were sparkling with energy, warming up thirty minutes prior for one final showdown.

The starting seven of the teams were as follows.

Air Force

GS – Dulanga Dhananji

GA – Rashmi Perera

WA – Thilini Wattegedara

C – Rukshala Hapuarachchi

WD – Sureka Gamage

GD – Poornima Waidyaratne

GK – CHathurangi Jayasooriya


GS – Umanga De Zoysa

GA – Dharshika Abeywickrama

WA – Dulangi Wannitilake

C – Gayanjali Amarawansa

WD – Hazeena Abdul

GD – Sunamya Welagedara

GK – Gayani Dissanayake

The match was played in four 15-minute quarters, where the Air Force team shot to lead the first quarter by three points at 9-12. However, team HNB regained their drive during the second quarter, managing to tie the score and lead by one point by the end of it. (23-22).

The fight remained neck on neck through the third quarter, keeping the crowd on their toes, juggling nerves and anticipation for the next 30 minutes. The third quarter ended by HNB leading by one point at 33-32.

The absolute fireworks of the final quarter is one to watch and re watch to relive the thrill of the clash between the best Netball teams of the country. The fourth quarter ended tied at 7-7, with Team HNB taking with them the glory of national Netball with a final score of 40-39, closing yet another chapter in Sri Lanka Netball 2023.

The following players were felicitated at the distribution of awards.

Best Center Court Player – SLAF – Rukshala Hapuarachchi

Best Shooter – HNB – Dharshika Abeywickrama

Best Defense – SLAF – Sureka Kumari

Netball Queen – SLAF – Rashmi Perera