Crystal Palace crowned Gampola FL champs after a thriller


Crystal Palace defeated Red Sun SC 9-8 on penalties to win the Gampola Football League final after the match ended 1-1 at full time at the Jayathilake Stadium, Nawalapitiya.

Red Sun were leading at half time but Palace, even after going down to 10 men, played brilliantly to snatch the equalizer and send the match into penalties. In a thrilling penalty shootout it went beyond the allotted five penalties but Palace ultimately prevailed to lift ‘The Traveller’ Gampola Football League Championship for the first time.

 Visit the FA Cup Hub 

Red Sun SC played well during the first quarter of play and but missed a few scoring opportunities. The young lads of Crystal Palace FC managed to hold off Red Sun and managed to create chances themselves but failed in execution.

Red Sun SC got the lead through Kumara Jayawickrama in the 20th minute of play as Red Sun went into half time the happier of the two sides.

Soon after the 2nd half started captain of Crystal Palace, Khalid Azmil was sent off for a serious foul, but Red Sun failed to capitalize from the extra man advantage.

With ten players, Crystal Palace played well creating many opportunities. In the 78th minute of play, a well-executed free-kick by Mohamed Shifan found the net for the equalizing goal.

In the 80th minute, coach C.Wijeratne was sent off the field by referee Hiran Udayakantha for dissent.

As the match finished 1-1 Crystal Palace went on to win 9-8 on penalties ending Red Sun SC’s 17 year reign atop the Gampola Football League.

Mohamed Shifan was awarded the Player of the Final.

Winners Crystal Palace FC was awarded with ‘The Traveller’ Championship trophy with Rs.50,000 and Red Sun SC was awarded the runner-up trophy and Rs.25,000.