Changes to Sri Lanka Cricket selection committee

Graeme Labrooy

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced their new five-man National Selection Committee in a communique earlier today. The committee will be headed by Graeme Labrooy who retains his place as Chief Selector.

Hashan Tillakaratne appointed new SL U19 Coach

Former Test Captain Hashan Tillakaratne has been appointed..

Head Coach Chandika Hathurusingha will function as the Selector on Tour, replacing Asanka Gurusinha.

Gurusinha was recently appointed as the Chief Cricket Operations Officer at Sri Lanka Cricket – He will oversee the SLC Brain Center facility and the High-Performance Center based at Khettarama despite currently working as the Team Manager in the West Indies.

Read: Malinga, Thisara, Udana & Shanaka picked in Global T20 Canada

Apart from Labrooy, Gamini Wickramasinghe and Jeryl Woutersz have been retained for another term while former Sri Lankan fast bowler Eric Upashantha has replaced renowned coach Sajith Fernando in the new committee.

45-year old Upashantha was also a member of the Selection Committee headed by Sanath Jayasuriya last year.

Read more: Sri Lanka’s perpetual top order shuffle

The new committee will be effective for a period of one year from 16th May, 2018, running until the 2019 ICC World Cup in England & Wales.

  1. Mr. Graeme Labrooy – Chairman
  2. Mr. Gamini Wickramasinghe – Member
  3. Mr. Eric Upashantha – Member
  4. Mr. Chandika Hathurusingha – Selector on Tour
  5. Mr. Jeryl Woutersz – Member