It is not too often that you see one team dominating another over a period of time in the modern-day sport. But the Visakhians are en-route to a special moment as they search for the 7th successive M. N. Edussooriya trophy in their  encounter vs Ladies College.

The waters of Sugathadasa will see much splash as the 14th occasion of the annual Ladies vs Visakha Water polo encounter take place on the 17th of October 2017. The rivalry that saw inception in the year 2004, has progressed to be the premier women’s water polo encounter in the country.

Named in memory of former Visakhian principal, Mrs M. N. Edussooriya, the first match ended up in crunch draw. The Ladies from flower road were triumphant in the year soon after but since then, fortune and fortitude has been with the Visakhians.

The post-2010 decade has been Visakha’s reign, winning six back to back titles from 2011 to 2016. There have been 13 encounters played between the schools and out of which Visakha has won nine including the last year’s while the Ladies’ have been able to triumph at only three occasions.

>> Visit the ThePapare Aquatics Hub <<

Series Tally

Year Ladies College Captain Visakha Vidyalaya Captain Winner
2004 Thanuja Fernando Harshini Warnapura Drawn
2005 Meneka Mendis Romali Tudawe Ladies’ College
2006 Isuri Beneragama Shahill Gomez Visakha Vidyalaya
2007 Manisha Rajanayake Lukshani Rathnayake Visakha Vidyalaya
2008 Gabrielle Mohammed Ravindi Dharmdasa Ladies’ College
2009 Savera Weerasinghe Charindee Weerasinghe Visakha Vidyalaya
2010 Enakshi Wickramanayake Elisha Gomez Ladies College
2011 Sachini Rajanayake Shivani Gunawardena Visakha Vidyalaya
2012 Dharithri Amarasekara Limashi Kosgodage Visakha Vidyalaya
2013 Haiqa Mohammed Tusari Ekanayake Visakha Vidyalaya
2014 Nidheesha Ellawala Aneka Abeywickrema Visakha Vidyalaya
2015 Shanelle Wikramanayaka Shaleena Peiris Visakha Vidyalaya (10-5)
2016 Sashi Weerawarana Nadishka Senanayake Visakha Vidyalaya (8-2)

2016 – The Six-peat

It was a year to forget for the Ladies when the Nadishka Senanayake led  Visakhian outfit registered an overwhelming 8-2 win at Sugathadasa Stadium. The Visakhians were the standout, leaving the Ladies side helpless in the pool.

The Nadishka Senanayake led her team to a sixth consecutive win against Ladies

Leaving the misery of 2016 aside, the Ladies team look confident that they could turn things around to bring the trophy back to Flower road this year. Skipper Nimashi De Silva will lead a young Ladies College water polo team who believe that they could break the six-year-long hoo-doo.

The team has the services of experienced campaigners Shenara David and Dunyasha Hewagama while Ashmeetha Cooray will be in charge of goalkeeping duties for the team. Playing at wing, Dunyasha will have a huge responsibility on her shoulders along with David to get points up for the team if they have intentions of scripting a miracle.

The rest of the team are fresh into the under 19 system but their experience in the junior team should come in handy when they play the Visakhians on the 17th.

The experienced Visakhian outfit will be the favourites for the title for the seventh consecutive year under captain Kavee Perera. This year’s season has been good for the Visakhians who also won the national championship.

The Visakhians carry with them the possibility of making it seven back to back titles and the experienced outfit shouldn’t find it too much of an effort. Skipper Perera who is the team’s regular goalkeeper was pivotal in last year’s 8-2 heist denying the Ladies of scoring opportunities.

The Visakhians have the services of the captains of the last two years; Nadishka Senanayake and Shaleena Peiris. Both of them were able to retain the trophy for Visakha and will no doubt aid Kavee Perera in her achieving this phenomenal feat.

With less than a week to go the Visakhians are set to join an elite class of sports teams if they achieve the unimaginable seventh when they confront the Ladies for the 14th time on the 17th at the Sugathadasa Stadium.

>> WATCH LIVE HERE – Ladies College vs Visakha Vidyalaya Water Polo Encounter