Blue Thunder strikes in Kurunegala

Singer Schools Rugby League 2019


Wesley College managed to secure their first win of the 2019 Singer Schools Rugby League after a massive 50 points to 10 win over Maliyadeva College at Kurunegala over the weekend.

Wesley Skipper, Mursheed Zubair, kicked things off and his team scored four early tries, making sure they earned the bonus point early on in the game. Opening the scoring was the lethal #8 Samuel Ogbebor, who picked the ball from the back of a ruck and dove straight over the whitewash. Following his lead, Kavindana Perera, the fairly experienced wing, proved his worth as he torched the touchlines with his pace, ending up scoring two classic wing three quarter tries to add to the score.

As half-time approached, the Wesleyites thought they scored another try just beside the uprights, but unfortunately for them, the try was disallowed after the assistant Referee spotted an infringement in the run up to it. However, Prop forward, Jeesa Wijegunawardena managed to make it 4 for Wesley before lemons, as Zubair kicked 3 of his 4 conversions successfully.

Half-time: Maliyadeva trailed 00 – 26 Wesley

The second half got underway with the visitors scoring a parade of tries, starving the home team of possession. In an attempt to win the ball, Maliyadeva’s #12 Dananjaya Dilshan made an unforced error which cost him 10 minutes in the sin-bin allowing Wesley to make headway. Zubair and Ogbebor managed to score doubles, whilst Shaveen Jayawardena joined the party as well.

Photo Album : Maliyadeva College v Wesley College – School’s Rugby League 2019 – A Division

As the Devans kept fighting on and not giving up, the prop forward, Anajana Maduwantha scored the home team’s first try after picking and going over, from 3 meters away. Skipper, Kaushalya Gunaweera made no mistake as Maliyadeva recorded their first 7 pointer after coming into the top division. As Gunaweera slotted a penalty through, it was all over for the Devans, who faced another 50+ defeat in their second week encounter.

Full time: MC 10 (1T 1C 1P) lost – 50 WC (8T 5C)

Score Breakdown – MC

Tries – Anjana Maduwantha
Conversion & Penalty – Kaushalya Munaweera

Score Breakdown – WC

Tries – Mursheed Zubair 2, Kavindana Perera 2, Samuel Ogbebor 2, Jeesa Wijegunawardena, Shaveen Jayawardena
Conversions – Musrheeed Zubair 5

Player of the Match: Mursheed Zubair (WC)