Home Cricket Sri Lanka win first ODI series at home after 44 months

Sri Lanka win first ODI series at home after 44 months

Bangladesh Tour of Sri Lanka | 2nd ODI

Avishka Fernando continued in his merry way to notch up his second ODI half-century but missed a well-deserved hundred.

Sri Lanka produced another clinical all-round performance to defeat Bangladesh by 6 wickets in the second ODI at R. Premadasa International Stadium on Sunday. 

Thank You Mali – You will be missed!

With this win, Sri Lanka took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match ODI series, with a game to spare. This is also their first ODI series win at home since November 2015 when they beat West Indies, 3-0.

Mushfiqur Rahim steadied the Bangladesh innings with a fine, gritty 98* after they opted to bat first. But, the five Sri Lankan bowlers – three seamers and two spinners, made good use of the slow nature of the surface, to restrict the visitors to 238. 

Youngster, Avishka Fernando continued to impress with his aggressive batting style as he set an ideal platform for the hosts with a quick-fire 75-ball 82, which included nine fours and two sixes. Angelo Mathews and Kusal Mendis then took Sri Lanka home after stuttering initially through the middle-overs. 

Chasing 239 was always going to be tough for the home team under lights on a pitch which offered plenty to the slower bowlers. However, Fernando and skipper Dimuth Karunaratne started off positively as Bangladesh erred in line and length. Fernando was in top form against the seamers as well, driving on the up and pulling anything short. 

Match Replay – Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka 2019 – 2nd ODI Match

Karunaratne fell to the bowling of Mehidy Hasan yet again in the series as his dismissal brought an end to the 71-run opening stand. Fernando continued in his merry way to notch up his second ODI half-century. Fernando and Kusal Perera added 58 for the second wicket but both had soft dismissals in the space of five overs to give Bangladesh a slight opportunity. 

Mendis and Mathews started slow but smartly played out Taijul Islam’s final few overs. After scoring just a couple of runs in nearly four overs, the pair swung the momentum back towards Sri Lanka during part-time spinner Sabbir Rahman’s 1st over, the 30th over of the innings. 

They got stuck in, put the loose balls away and constructed a match-winning, unbroken 96-run stand for the fourth wicket to finish off the game with more than five overs to spare. 

Earlier, the visitors had lost wickets at regular intervals and were in a spot of bother at 117 for 6 in the 32nd over. However, Mushfiqur Rahim and Mehidy Hasan gave them a fighting chance, adding 84 runs for the seventh wicket. 

On a pitch which was gripping and turning, the visitors lost their way as Sri Lanka’s spin duo, Akila Dananjaya and Dhananjaya De Silva bowled their 20 overs for 78 runs, with both conceding 39 runs each. 

Rahim played the anchor role for Bangladesh with the bat, during his 110-ball knock which had 6 fours and a six. 

Sri Lanka struck early when Nuwan Pradeep hit Soumya Sarkar plumb in front for just 11. Bangladesh skipper Tamim Iqbal’s horror run continued when he chopped one onto the stumps off Isuru Udana. 

Photos : Sri Lanka Vs. Bangladesh | 2nd ODI

Akila Dananjaya, coming into the side in place of seam-bowling all-rounder Thisara Perera, used all his variations and managed to pick up two wickets – Mohammad Mithun and Mahmudullah – to rattle the Bangladesh middle-order. 

A brilliant piece of fielding by Dhananjaya De Silva and Kusal Perera caught Sabbir Rahman short of his crease as the visitors fell to five down for 88 with less than 25 overs completed. 

Rahim lost another partner in Mosaddek Hossain as he fell to a short delivery by Udana as Sri Lanka took a firm grip of the game until the Hasan-Rahim stand. 

Hasan became Pradeep’s second victim but Rahim kept on finding the odd boundary to push the score to 238. It did not prove to be enough, as Sri Lanka eventually secured an easy win.

The third and final ODI will be played on 31st July, Wednesday. 

>>Sri Lanka v Bangladesh 2019<<


Sri Lanka
242/3 (44.4)
238/8 (50)
Tamim Iqbal b Isuru Udana19312061.29
Soumya Sarkar lbw b Nuwan Pradeep11131084.62
Mohammad Mithun c Kusal Mendis b Akila Dananjaya12231052.17
Mushfiqur Rahim not out981106189.09
Mahmudullah b Akila Dananjaya6180033.33
Sabbir Rahaman run out (Dhananjaya de Silva)11192057.89
Mosaddek Hossain c Kusal Perera b Isuru Udana13270048.15
Mehidy Hasan Miraz c Dimuth Karunaratne b Nuwan Pradeep43496087.76
Taijul Islam run out (Nuwan Pradeep)390033.33
Mustafizur Rahman not out2200100.00
Extras20 (b 3 , lb 4 , nb 1, w 12, pen 0)
Total238/8 (50 Overs, RR: 4.76)
Fall of Wickets 1-26 (5.4) Soumya Sarkar, 2-31 (8.1) Tamim Iqbal, 3-52 (14.3) Mohammad Mithun, 4-68 (18.6) Mahmudullah, 5-88 (24.3) Sabbir Rahaman, 6-117 (31.5) Mosaddek Hossain, 7-201 (45.3) Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 8-231 (49.2) Taijul Islam,
Dhananjaya de Silva1003903.90
Nuwan Pradeep1005325.30
Isuru Udana1005825.80
Lahiru Kumara1004204.20
Akila Dananjaya1003923.90

Avishka Fernando c Tamim Iqbal b Mustafizur Rahman827592109.33
Dimuth Karunaratne b Mehidy Hasan Miraz15291051.72
Kusal Perera c Soumya Sarkar b Mustafizur Rahman30343088.24
Kusal Mendis not out41744055.41
Angelo Mathews not out52577091.23
Extras22 (b 0 , lb 9 , nb 1, w 12, pen 0)
Total242/3 (44.4 Overs, RR: 5.42)
Fall of Wickets 1-71 (11.3) Dimuth Karunaratne, 2-129 (20.4) Avishka Fernando, 3-146 (24.4) Kusal Perera,
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1005115.10
Shaiful Islam502905.80
Taijul Islam1023503.50
Mustafizur Rahman805026.25
Mosaddek Hossain703204.57
Sabbir Rahaman2.402008.33
Soumya Sarkar201608.00