Army bags “Eva Trophy 2016”

Eva Trophy 2016
Sri Lanka Army with the Eva Trophy 2016 Championship

The Western Province Netball Association (WPNA) in collaboration with ICL Marketing, acting as sponsor, organized the Western Province Netball Championship (WPNC) for the “Eva Trophy 2016”, celebrating their 62nd anniversary. 

The Sri Lanka Army Netball Team clinched the ‘A’ Division title and the Eva Trophy when they beat Holy Family Convent Kurunegala by 36 goals to 18 goals in the final worked off at St Joseph’s College indoor courts last Saturday.

The preliminary matches were played at Sirimavo Bandaranayake Vidyalaya Ground on May 7th and 8th   from 07.00 a.m. onwards, while the finals were played on May 14th at St. Joseph’s College Sports Complex Colombo 10.

A total of 12 clubs, 12 national schools and international schools competed in the tournament that was conducted in eight categories.

The results were as follows:
  1. ‘A’ Division

Sri Lanka Army beat Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala 36 – 18
Best Player – Samurdhi Abeygunawardene (Army SC)

  1. ‘B Division’

Speedbirds SC beat United, Kurana 20 – 18
Best Player – Kayesha Siriwardene (Speedbirds SC)

  1. Over 35 Division

Speedbirds SC beat Old Bridgeteens SC 15 – 08
Best Player – Shevon Perera (Speedbirds SC)

  1. Mixed Division

Sharks SC beat United, Kurana 18 – 17
Best Player – Chanuka Shehan (Nugegoda SC)

  1. Under 15 Division

St. Bridget’s Convent, Colombo beat Ladies College, Colombo 10 – 04
Best Player – Vinuji Gamage (St. Bridget’s Convent)

  1. Under 17 Division

Sirimavo Bandaranaiake Vidyalaya, Colombo beat Anula Vidyalaya, Nugegoda 12 – 08
Best Player – Samanthi Meegalla (Sirimavo Bandaranaiake Vidyalaya)

  1. Under 19 Division

Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala beat Holy Family Convent, Kaluthara 27 – 17
Best Player – Wasana Rathnayake (Holy Family Convent, Kurunegala)

  1. International Schools’ Division

Lyceum, Wattala beat Colombo South, Kohuwala 15 – 06
Best Player – Pawani Ranepura ( Lyceum, Wattala)

Netball Queen – Umanga Subhashini – United SC, Kurana
Netball King – Dhanuka Muthukuda – Sharks SC, Colombo

Hon. Ruwan Wijewardene, State Minister for Defence participated as the Chief Guest during the Awards Presentation.