Arjuna Ranatunga to coach Asia Lions in Legends League Cricket

Legends League Cricket 2022


Sri Lanka’s World Cup-winning Captain Arjuna Ranatunga has been appointed as Head Coach of Asia Lions squad which will feature in the inaugural Legends League Cricket (LLC) tournament.

Ranatunga will serve as the Head Coach of the Asia Lions squad, while Mario Villavarayan will work as the Assistant Coach cum Strength & Conditioning Coach of the team.

Six Sri Lankans, namely TM Dilshan, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Upul Tharanga and Nuwan Kulasekara, have already arrived in Oman to take part in the tournament, which will commence on 20th January.

Meanwhile Sanath Jayasuriya, Ajantha Mendis and Dilhara Fernando are expected to arrive in Oman on the 19th of January. Former Pakistan Captain Misbah-ul-Haq is expected to lead the squad. Asia Lions team’s first training session will be held tomorrow.

Asia Lions Squad

Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kamran Akmal, Chaminda Vaas, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Azhar Mahmood, Upul Tharanga, Misbah-ul-Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Yousuf, Umar Gul, Asghar Afghan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis, Dilhara Fernando

Schedule of Legends League Cricket 2022

  • January 20, 2022: India Maharajas vs Asia Lions
  • January 21, 2022: World Giants vs Asia Lions
  • January 22, 2022: World Giants vs India Maharajas
  • January 23, 2022: Rest Day
  • January 24, 2022: Asia Lions vs India Maharajas
  • January 25, 2022: Rest Day
  • January 26, 2022: India Maharajas vs World Giants
  • January 27, 2022: Asia Lions vs World Giants
  • January 28, 2022: Rest Day
  • January 29,2022: Final