Amana Bank overcomes Expolanka to win Mercantile Futsal Championship

Amana Bank crowned Champions at the 3rd Annual Mercantile Futsal Championship

The 3rd Mercantile Futsal Championship concluded at the CR & FC Indoor Courts with Amana Bank being crowned winners of the Cup Championship defeating Expolanka in the final played last Saturday (29).

The tournament, organized by the Mercantile Football Association of Sri Lanka, was conducted in a 5-a-side format with 24 teams being pooled into 8 groups. 

Cup Championship

Amana Bank PLC staved off a spirited second half rally by Expolanka ‘A’ as they triumphed over them 5-4 on penalties after the scores stood 3-3 at full time. 

Amana Bank got off to a brilliant start scoring 3 goals in the first half while Expolanka could only net 1 in reply. But, Expolanka found their rhythm and completely dominated the second half as they found the net twice to take the game into penalties. 

However, Amana Bank managed to hold their nerve and clinch the championship triumphing over the opposition 5-4 on penalties. 

Mohamed Shamil, Mohamed Sajid and S.A. Rahuman found the back of the net for Amana Bank while Zarwan Johar who was also named Best Player netted twice and Niran Kanishka scored once for Expolanka. Mohamed Sideek from Amana Bank was recognized as the Best Goalkeeper of the category.

Amana Bank booked their place in the finals after defeating Expolank ‘B’ 1-0 and WNS Global 2-0 in the quarter finals and semi-finals respectively while Expolanka beat Dialog Axiata in the quarter finals and John Keells 2-1 in the semi-finals after a tough encounter to qualify for the finals. 

Plate Championship

John Keells got the better of WNS Global after a thrilling encounter in the final as they recorded a 4-3 victory to grab the Plate Championship. 

Chalana Chameera who was adjudged the Best Player of the category scored twice while Indreewa Udara and Udara Dhananjaya scored one each for John Keells. Ajay Laxman, Mohamed Ziyan and Brian Ricardo got their names on the scoresheet for WNS Global. 

Ajay Laxman of WNS Global was named the Best Goalkeeper and the Fair Play Award was won by Expolanka ‘B’.

Bowl Championship

London Stock Exchange Group (LSEG) ‘Tech’ was crowned Bowl Champions as they trounced MAS Holdings 5-0 in the final.

LSEG ‘Tech’ Captain Dulara Dilshan who also scored a hat-trick, clinched the award for the Best Player while Dewmal Ancitus from the same team was named Best Goalkeeper.

>>for more Football News Click Here<<