Advisory committee appointed to steer Rugby


The Minister of Sports Namal Rajapaksa has appointed an eight member rugby advisory committee to steer the development of the game in the country.

Former Sri Lanka Rugby Union (SLRFU) President and current Chairperson of Asia Rugby Competition Committee, Asanga Seneviratne has been entrusted with heading the 8- member committee which consists of individuals who have been actively involved in promoting the game in the island.

The advisory committee is expected to work towards the development of the game while cohesively working with Sri Lanka Rugby and Sri Lanka Schools Rugby Football Union to expand the game in the island. It is learned that this committee is expected to play a similar role to the function the cricket advisory committee headed by Aravinda De Silva has undertaken.

Having been categorized as a high-risk sport, Rugby was one of the last sports to recommence with the Warrior 7s tournament which was held on the 30th & 31st of October being the first major tournament to be worked out since the Covid-19 pandemic affected the island.

The committee will consist of SLR Chairman Asanga Seneviratne, Rizly Ilyas, Hafeez Marso, Dilroy Fernando, Wing Commander Eranga Geeganange, Rear Admiral  A.S.L. Gamage, Udani Edirisinghe and Dr. Lal Ekanayake.