A Royal day of Rowing as schools post tough challenges to each other

  • A Royal day of Rowing as schools post tough challenges to each other

The Invitational Regatta organised by the Royal College Rowing Advisory and Management committee alongside the Royal College Rowing Crew concluded this evening at the Colombo Rowing Club. The Regatta was organised to commemorate 125 years of service of the Royal College Union.

The twist of this regatta was the participation of oarsmen from Melbourne High School in Australia, in exchange for the visit and experience gained by the oarsmen from the Royal College Crew in January, this year.

The regatta hosted an evening of a spectacular display of rowing with many of the crews finishing seconds apart from each other. 11 institutions, including schools and universities took part in today’s regatta as they rowed down a 500 meter course in fours, pairs and sculls.

Hosts, Royal College managed to clinch two of the three boys events, while the girls from the University of Colombo (UOC), University of Moratuwa (UOM) and Bishop’s College shared one event each.

Royal College veteran, Hashen Hettigoda won a tough challenge put up by Anandian Suhith Alexander, while the Royalist’s A four won the men’s fours event with UOC coming in at second and Royal College B four at third place. The visiting lads from Melbourne finished off first, winning the men’s pairs final.

In the girl’s segment, Bishops College won the sculls final and UOC won the pairs. UOM crossed the line first in a hard fought battle put up by the other two crews in the fours event.

The day’s proceedings were end with the awards ceremony, and fellowship between the local crews and those from Melbourne.

The evening’s results are as follows:

* Women’s sculls –
Thavisha Attanayake (BC)

* Men’s sculls –
Hashen Hettigoda (RC)

* Women’s pairs –
Chethana Gallage
Achini Jayaweers (UOC)

* Men’s pairs –
Gavrill Govervitch
Yotam Brotman (Mel High)

* Women’s fours –
Thilini Girihagama
Sasanda Chandraratne (UOM)
Sachijnj Jagodaarachchi
Anusari Dassanayake
Malithie Vidanapathirana

* Men’s fours –
Sajaad Ajmaal
Kavinda Matthew
Hashen Hettigoda (RC)
Prathap Perera
Avishka Jayaweera