Home Cricket Bawantha and Anju put Thurstan College on course

Bawantha and Anju put Thurstan College on course

56th Battle of the Brothers 2019 – Day 1


The 2019 edition of March Madness kick started today at the Sinhalese Sports Club grounds, as Thurstan College took on Isipathana College in the 56th ‘Battle of the Brothers’ annual encounter. Thurstan College ended the day on top with just 15 runs behind Isipathana College, and 5 wickets in hand.

March Madness | Live Scores, News, Photos, Videos, stats

Live scores, updates, photos & videos of Schools Cricket and the all…

Thurstan College were made to toil hard for their first breakthrough after they won the toss and elected to bowl first. The impressive opening spell by Bawantha Jayasinghe and Avishka Kaushalya, went wicket-less despite being economical.

Opener Mandeepa Gunasekara’s quiet stay at the wicket came to an end drawing a close to the slow opening stand. Thurstan skipper, left-arm spinner Sandaru Dias was the man who eventually gave his team volume with the desperate strike.

Following Gunasekara’s dismissal for a 78-ball 15, Thevindu Dickwella started to play some shots but was unfortunately dismissed in the 30th over for 40 runs, when Isipathana were on 68.

After a tiring morning session Thurstan managed to pick up 4 wickets in the middle session, all of them in regular intervals. Apart from Dickwella, Savindu Uthsara scored 30 runs while Isaru Sandamal and Ravindu Rathnayake scored 26 and 20 runs respectively.

Photo Album : Thurstan College vs Isipathana College | 56th Battle of the Brothers – Day 1

Isipathana were 151/6 in 51.3 overs, as they approached the end of the 60 overs they were allowed to bat in the first innings. Just as they were starting to accelerate, Bawantha Jayasinghe, playing in his first ever Big Match, destroyed the Isipathana innings.

They lost their last 4 wickets for just 1 run and were all out, just before completing the allocated 60 overs. Jayasinghe ended with impressive figures of 5/37 becoming the 3rd Thurstanite to pick up 5 wickets on his Big Match debut; Skipper Dias also impressed with 4 wickets.

The reply from Thurstan saw an early set back as left-arm seamer Dinath Dissanayake wrecked the Thurstan top-order with 2 early wickets. Yohan Liyanage, Thurstan’s best batsman this season and Jayawihan Mahavithana, the centurion last year, were dismissed before the end of the 6th over in their inning.

Thurstan favourites against inferior Isipathana

The fight for the ‘Blackham Wijewardene Memorial Trophy’ between…

Batting at number 4, Anju Karunanayake, then started to rebuild the Thurstan innings. After losing his partner Avishka Kaushalya for 59 runs, Karunanayake was involved in a 47-run stand with Nimesh Perera for the 4th wicket.

Nimesh Perera, who bagged most of his runs with the sweep shot, was undone trying to sweep Isipathana skipper Madushika Sandaruwan. This was interestingly Sandaruwan’s first Big Match wicket.

Then came Ranesh Silva, who together with Karunanayake took Thurstan College to a commendable position as they added 48 runs for the 5th wicket. During the cause, Karunanayake reached his half-century. He was also assisted by a missed stumping chance and a dropped catch.

56th Battle of the Brothers – ThePapare Stats

ThePapare Stats…

His splendid knock came to an end at 70 when he was bowled by Dissanayake in his comeback spell. Silva remained unbeaten on 28 together with Rashmika Hiripitiya when play was stopped for bad light. On high spirits, Thurstan finished the day on 154/5, trailing by just 15 runs. The Thurstanites are left with 25.4 overs in their first essay.

Stay logged on to ThePapare.com for LIVE coverage, Photos & latest updates of the 56th 56th Battle of the Brothers 2019. Live action of day 2 can also be viewed on Channel Number 77 on Dialog TV.


Thurstan College
276/10 (58.4) & 41/0 (7.5)
Isipathana College
169/10 (57.1) & 144/10 (50.2)
Thevindu Damsara Dickwella c Ayesh Harshana b Bawantha Jayasinghe40705057.14
Mandeepa Gunasekara c Nimesh Perera b Sandaru Dias15781019.23
Ravindu Rathnayakke c A Karunananyake b Ayesh Harshana20482041.67
I Sandamal c A Karunananyake b Bawantha Jayasinghe26534049.06
Leshan Kavisha Amarasinghe lbw b Sandaru Dias350060.00
S Uthsara c Ayesh Harshana b Bawantha Jayasinghe30425071.43
Saveen Dhantha st R Silva b Sandaru Dias19283067.86
Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi c A Karunananyake b Sandaru Dias6160037.50
Madushika Sandaruwan c R Silva b Bawantha Jayasinghe04000.00
Thuwan Kalik Amath b Bawantha Jayasinghe02000.00
Dinath Dissanayaka not out00000.00
Extras10 (b 1 , lb 4 , nb 4, w 1)
Total169/10 (57.1 Overs, RR: 2.96)
Bawantha Jayasinghe14.033752.64
Avishka Kaushalya5.011402.80
Ayesh Harshana20.036613.30
Sandaru Dias15.114142.72
Shalaka Bandara3.00602.00
Yohan Liyanage

b Dinath Dissanayaka

Jayavihan Mahavithana c Leshan Kavisha Amarasinghe b Thuwan Kalik Amath7171041.18
Avishka Kaushalya c Leshan Kavisha Amarasinghe b Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi9311029.03
A Karunananyake b Dinath Dissanayaka70808087.50
Nimesh Perera c I Sandamal b Madushika Sandaruwan16271059.26
R Silva c I Sandamal b Ravindu Rathnayakke10911614093.97
Rashmika Hiripitiya c Thuwan Kalik Amath b Ravindu Rathnayakke011000.00
Bawantha Jayasinghe b Ravindu Rathnayakke01000.00
Shalaka Bandara run out b12320037.50
Ayesh Harshana b Thuwan Kalik Amath18253072.00
Sandaru Dias not out240050.00
Extras21 (b 10 , lb 4 , nb 6, w 1)
Total276/10 (58.4 Overs, RR: 4.70)
Dinath Dissanayaka11.223723.30
Thuwan Kalik Amath6.004327.17
Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi14.024713.36
Thevindu Damsara Dickwella10.004504.50
Madushika Sandaruwan11.024113.73
Ravindu Rathnayakke5.213436.54
S Uthsara1.0015015.00
Mandeepa Gunasekara lbw b Sandaru Dias23540042.59
Thevindu Damsara Dickwella c Yohan Liyanage b Sandaru Dias393800102.63
Ravindu Rathnayakke c Nimesh Perera b Sandaru Dias49815060.49
I Sandamal c Rashmika Hiripitiya b Yohan Liyanage017000.00
Leshan Kavisha Amarasinghe c Jeyavihan Pradeeptha b Bawantha Jayasinghe11382028.95
S Uthsara lbw b Sandaru Dias010000.00
Saveen Dhantha lbw b Ayesh Harshana13341038.24
Madushika Sandaruwan c Rashmika Hiripitiya b Ayesh Harshana4150026.67
Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi c Shalaka Bandara b Sandaru Dias04000.00
Thuwan Kalik Amath b Sandaru Dias180012.50
Dinath Dissanayaka not out05000.00
Extras4 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 2, w 2)
Total144/10 (50.2 Overs, RR: 2.86)
Ayesh Harshana16.033922.44
Bawantha Jayasinghe8.002713.38
Sandaru Dias17.215463.14
Yohan Liyanage8.001712.12
Shalaka Bandara1.00707.00
Yohan Liyanage not out16192084.21
Jeyavihan Pradeeptha not out21283075.00
Extras4 (b 4 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 0)
Total41/0 (7.5 Overs, RR: 5.23)
Ravindu Rathnayakke2.001206.00
Yasiru Kasthuriarachchi3.501504.29
Thuwan Kalik Amath2.011005.00