18-freshers for Sri Lanka Rugby; Squad announced

Asia Division I Rugby Championship


A 28-member national squad has been finalized for the upcoming Asia Division I Championship that will kick off on the 29th May in Chinese Taipei. The team led by Omalka Gunarathane will consist of 18 players who will don the Tuskers jersey for the first time.

Read more : Sri Lanka appoint youngest ever Captain 

The team was picked based on the performance of the players in the Dialog Rugby League and later from the Colombo-Outstation clash that took place at the Havelock Sports Club.

Led by CR & FC’s Omalka Gunarathane who will take on his third tour, the team has the likes of experienced campaigners in the likes of Sajith Saranga and Roshan Weeraratne who’ve been regulars in the XV’s format for the country.

A debut for Prabath Kumara(L), Ashan Bandara(Middle) and Sudaraka Dikkumbura (R)

Players who have represented the country in the sevens format; Reeza Raffaideen, Mithun Hapugoda, Dinuk Amerasinghe and Buddhima Piyarathane are set to make their debut in the fifteens jersey in Chinese Taipei.

The squad that was finalized today will travel to Taiwan on Sunday (26th) and are expected to commence training on Monday evening.

Notable exclusions from the side include Sathya Ranathunga of CH, Nuwan Perera of Air Force and Kevin Dixon of CR & FC.

Also read : Sri Lanka’s quest to conquer

Under 20 players from last year Dinuk Amerasinghe, Theekshana Dassanayake, Sachith Silva, Gihan Silva and Samuel Maduwantha make the squad.

The 28-member squad will be as follows:

Props: Kasun De Silva (Navy), Charles Praveen (Air Force), Yakoob Ali (Kandy), Jason Melder (CH)

Hookers: Prasath Madusanka (CH), Uchitha Jayasuriya (Kandy)

Locks: Sajith Saranga (CH), Umesha Madushan (Havelock), Prabath Kumara (Army), Thilina Bandara (Air Force)

Third row: Omalka Gunarathane (CR), Niwanka Prasad (CH), Gihan Perera (Navy), Lasindu Ishan (Havelock)

Scrumhalves: Roshan Weeraratne (Kandy), Mithun Hapugoda (Havelock)

Fly-halves: Samuel Maduwatha (CH), Ashan Bandara (Army)

Centres: Dinuk Amerasinghe (Havelock), Theekshana Dassanayake (Havelock)

Wing/Utility: Kavindu Perera (Kandy), Reeza Raffaideen (CR), Buddhima Piyarathae (Navy), Sachith Silva (Police), Sudaraka Dikkumbura (Army)

Full back: Thilina Wijesinghe (Kandy)

Reserves: Rahul De Silva (CR), Sandesh Jayawickrema (Havelock)