Bishop’s College regain LC-BC title

15th Annual Ladies’ vs. Bishop’s College Hockey Encounter

The Colombo Astro Hockey Turf was coloured in purple with Bishop’s College winning the Ladies’ – Bishop’s Hockey Shield after losing last year’s encounter. The 15th Annual encounter was worked off at the Astro Turf in Racecourse yesterday (28).

The under 19 match started in rainy conditions at the Colombo Astro Hockey Turf, with Ladies’ aiming to retain and their opponents aiming to regain the shield. The stadium was filled with purple and red spectators.

Bishop’s started the game aggressively   and were rewarded when in the fifth minute Devthilini Fernando scored the first goal of the match. The girls in purple kept up the momentum and retained their one goal lead going into the half time break.

Half time score BC 1 – 0 LC

In the second half, the Bishopians continued their attacking game which they played in the first half while continuing pressure which ultimately led to the second goal by Aanjuli. The 2nd goal proved to be enough for the Bishopians as they took the shield 2-0.

>>Photos: 15th Annual Bishop’s College Vs Ladies’ College Hockey Encounter<<

Full time score BC 2 – 0 LC

The Under 17 clash was a tight fight between the two schools. Both teams got on the scorecard and the game ended as a 1 – 1 draw.

Full time score BC 1 – 1 LC

The Chief Guest for this event was Uma Kithulgoda Samarawickrema, who presented the awards at the post match ceremony.

Speaking to the, the captain of the Bishop’s Team had this to say

“We have been practicing well for our Annual Encounter. Last year we drew the match so this year we wanted to dominate the game and we achieved it. There are three seniors players playing in their final encounter for our alma mater so we wanted to give them a good farewell by winning the encounter.”

Special Awards


  • Best Attacker – Akeesha Rishan of Ladies‘ College
  • Best Defensive Player – Kiandra Benjamin of Ladies‘ College
  • Best Goalkeeper – Ayrah Imthizam of Bishop‘s College


  • Best Attacker – Devthilini Fernando of Bishop‘s College
  • Best Defensive Player – Thimanya Ellepolla of Ladies’ College
  • Best Goalkeeper – Thenukie Samaranayake of Bishop’s College

>>Click here for more hockey news<<