Eleven teams battle it out for the Water Polo national crown

Water polo national

A total of 11 teams will make their way to the Sugathadasa Indoor Swimming Complex for the 2016 edition of Water polo nationals will take place on the 19th and the 20th of November 2016.

The Water polo nationals, usually held earlier in the year, were postponed due to the South Asian Aquatic Championships. A total of 8 teams will eye the Men’s title while three teams have been enlisted in the Women’s draw.

So far this year, there has been the Ellawala Water polo league that was held during the middle of the year where Navy Sports Club emerged victorious in the Men’s contest while the Navy ladies continued their supremacy in the women’s water polo arena. Continuing the success from the Ellawala league, the two Navy teams dominated the Defense Services Water polo championships that were played at the Ratmalana Air Force Swimming Pool Complex.

Up and coming Army is set to provide stiff competition in the segment while in-form quadruple Hayman winners, S. Thomas’ College Mount Lavinia have opted to sit out the competition. Nevertheless, Royal College Colombo will play as one team while the alumni will play as the Royal College Union Aquatic Club. Other teams in the competition are Police, SSC, Army & Air Force.

With only three teams listed in the women’s competition, defending champions Navy Sports Club gets automatic qualification to the finals while Visakha Vidyalaya will meet the Women’s team of the Royal College Union Aquatic Club to get their ticket to the finals.

Saturday, November 19th
Match Category Round Team   Team
Start 9.00 a.m 1 Men Round 1 Air Force vs Nalanda College, Colombo
2 Men Round 1 Royal College, Colombo vs Royal College Union Aquatic Club
3 Men Round 1 Army vs Police
4 Men Round 1 Navy vs SSC
5 Women Semi Final Visakha Vidyalaya vs Royal College Union Aquatic Club
6 Men Semi Final Winners of match 1 vs Winners of match 2
7 Men Semi Final Winners of match 3 vs Winners of match 4
Sunday, November 20th
Match Category Round Team   Team
Start 9.00 a.m 8 Women Final Winners of match 5 vs Navy
9 Men 3rd place Loser of match 6 vs Loser of match 7
10 Men Final Winner of match 6 vs Winner of match 7