Victoria Golf Club emerges victorious

Victoria Golf Club emerges victorious

The inaugural Sri Lanka Inter Club Golf Championship organized by the Sri Lanka Golf Union was held on the 31st of January 2016 at the Royal Colombo Golf Club course, with The Victoria Golf & Country Resort clinching the Shield.

The tournament was conducted with the participation of 9 teams, consisting of 156 golfers, teeing off. The team from the Victoria Golf Club in Kandy won the title with a total of 393 points. The Nuwara Eliya Golf Club fought valiantly but came in second, trailing the victors by a mere six points. The other teams that participated were: The Royal Colombo Golf Club, which fielded three teams at the tournament, The Army Golf Club Diyatalawa, Sandy Bay Golf Links representing the Team from Navy and The Eagles Golf Links which was represented by two creatively names teams; Team MIG and Team KFIR, with Air Force officers playing for Team MIG and the members of the Eagles Golf Links playing for Team KFIR.

The tournament was conducted in the Stable Ford points format which promotes aggressive playing and more risk taking. Points are awarded for the score in respective to the par score on each hole. Vidush Rajendran from the Victoria Golf Club put up the best individual score of 42 points with R. M. S. Rupasinghe of Sandy Bay Golf Links and Maj. Gen. Srinath Rajapakse of NEGC both scoring 41 points each. The captains of both the RCGC and VGCR, Ranil Pieris and Thusith Wijesinghe respectively notched up 40 points apiece.

Along with the Inaugural Inter Club Golf Championship, the Dudley Senanayake Trophy, Levers Challenge Shield, Levers Cup and the RCGC Cup were also concurrently worked off. These events, which have been played annually, were organized by the Sri Lanka Golf Union.

The Dudley Senanayake Shield for the best Aggregate Nett Team Event ended in a fiercely competed tie with Harsha Abeywickrama, G. V. C. Udayanga and A.D. L. M. Ranasinghe edging past the team of Ali Hussain Didi, Ranjit Perera and R.G. S. P. Dharmaratna on the count back with 101 points.

The Gross Team Event for the Levers Challenge Shield too resulted in a tie with Arvind Fernando, T. Akberally and Huzefa Akberally winning it on the count back with 67 points. The Levers Cup for the Best Individual Score was won by youngster Husni Uwise with 34 points. The second place of the Levers Cup ended in a tie with both Sachin De Silva and Srinath Rajapakse scoring 33 points each. The RCGC Cup for the Best Individual Nett Score went to Vidusha Rajendran who put up the highest number of Stable Ford points for the day. Srinath Rakapakse tied for the runner up position on 41 points, but was edged out by R. M. S. Rupasinghe on the count back.


WINNERS – Victoria Golf & Country Resort (Total – 393 points)
Vidush Rajendran – 42 points
Thusith Wijesinghe – 40 points
Louise Parson – 38 points

    1. Priath Fernando – 38 points

Chandana Weerasinghe – 36 points
Jerry Huxtable – 35 points
Lalith Rohana – 34 points
Ali Hussain Didi – 34 points
Gehan Siribaddana – 32 points

    1. Jafferjee – 32 points

Richel Ahamed – 32 points

RUNNERS UP – Nuwara Eliya Golf Club Total – 387 points
Srinath Rajapakse – 41 points
Amal Cabraal – 39 points
Harsha Abeywickrama – 38 points
Armand Flamer Caldera – 37 points
Kayla Perera – 35 points
Mangala Niyarepola – 34 points
Kushal Johnpillai – 34 points
Ramesh Carvahlo – 33 points

    1. Akbarally – 32 points

Nilkamal Perera – 32 points
Swen Selvaratnam – 32 points

3rd Place
RCGC 2 Total 367 points
Best Score: Ranil Pieris – 40 points

4th Place
RCGC 1 Total 340 points
Best Score: Arvind Fernando – 37 points

5th Place
Eagles Golf Links Team MIG Total 339 points
Best Score: Gamini Rubasinghe – 34 points

6th Place
RCGC 3 Total 332 points
Best Score: Qi Yuang Liu – 35 points

7th Place
Sandy Bay Golf Links Team Navy Total 315 points
Best Score: R.M.S. Rupasinghe 41 points

8th Place
Eagles Golf Links Team KFIR Total 309 points
Best Score Sachin De Silva – 36 points

9th Place
Army Golf Club Diyatalawa Total 299 points
Best Score – R.G. S.P. Dharmaratne 39 points

Dudley Senanayake Trophy Team Nett:
Winners:  Harsha Abeywickrama, G.V.C. Udayanga, A. D.L.M. Ranasinghe – 101 points (B/b 9)
Runners Up: Ali Hussain Didi, Ranjith Perera, R.G.S.P.Dharmaratna – 101 points

Levers Challenge Shield Team Gross:
Winners:  Arvind Fernando, T. Akberally, Hufeza Akberally – 67 points (B/b 9)
Runners Up: Sanka Edirisinghe, Rohan Fernandez, A.Pathmarooban – 67 points

Levers Cup Best Individual Gross:
Winner:  Husni Uwise – 34 points
Runners Up: Sachin De Silva – 33 points

RCGC Cup Best Individual Nett:
Winner:  Vidusha Rajendra – 42 points
Runners Up: R. M. S. Rupasinghe – 41 points (b/b 9)

Longest Drive @ 8th:
Men – Dhanusha Perera (Sandy Bay Golf Link)
Ladies – Niloo Jayathilaka (NEGC)

Nearest to the Pin 9th:
Men – Srinath Rajapakse (NEGC)
Ladies – Niloo Jayathilaka (NEGC)