Udawatte makes ton; Milantha and Samarawickrama star on final day


Two games of the Super Provincial four day cricket tournament, organized by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) concluded today at Katunayake and Hambanthota.

Colombo vs Galle

The clash between Colombo and Galle ended in a draw today at Hambanthota with first innings points won by the Galle team. The lads from Galle resumed day four on 4 for no wicket but opening batsman Madawa Warnapura was trapped lbw by left arm seamer Vishwa Fernando for 8 runs.

Number three batsman Oshada Fernando could not stay at the crease for long as he was also trapped lbw by Vishwa Fernando for just 3 runs. However, left handed Lahiru Milantha and right handed Sadeera Samarawickrama rescued the innings with a 147-run partnership for the third wicket.

Samarawickrama showed his elegant stroke-play again with a 77-run knock which included 8 boundaries. Milantha remained unbeaten on 74 runs stroking 7 boundaries. Left arm seamer Vishwa Fernando was impressive with the ball for Colombo as he picked up 2 wickets for 24 runs. The Umpires decided to call off play for day four around 3.30 pm due to bad light.


Full Scorecard

Team Galle's 2nd Inning

Team Colombo

333/10 & 0/0

(0 overs)


Team Galle

476/10 & 177/3

(56 overs)

Match Drawn

Team Colombo’s 1st Innings

Kaushal Silva b Mohomed Dilshad1326
Shehan Jayasuriya c Oshada Fernando b Nisala Tharaka817
D.De.Silva lbw by Mohomed Dilshad6659
Lahiru Thirimanne not out125258
LD Chandimal c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Akila Dananjaya1830
Chamara Silva b Akila Dananjaya1025
Dilruwan Perera c Madawa Warnapura b Akila Dananjaya01
Kavishka Anjula c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Dasun Shanaka4657
L. Embuldeniya lbw by Chathuranga de Silva2495
V. Fernando c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Chathuranga de Silva010
Nisala Tharaka172661 3.88
Mohomed Dilshad154492 3.27
MD Shanaka152621 4.13
M. Pushpakumara181550 3.06
A Dananjaya222613 2.77
PC de Silva8.51222 2.59
333/10 (95.5 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-21, 2-25, 3-117, 4-149, 5-171, 6-171, 7-250, 8-331, 9-333

Team Galle’s 1st Innings

M.Warnapura b Lasith Embuldeniya1839
L.Milantha (runout) Kaushal Silva00
Oshada Fernando c Dushmantha Chameera b Kavishka Anjula07
S.Samarawickrama c Lasith Embuldeniya b Kavishka Anjula110
R. Silva not out231392
MD Shanaka b Dilruwan Perera95157
PC de Silva c Vishwa Fernando b Dilruwan Perera4763
Nisala Tharaka b Lasith Embuldeniya2036
A Dananjaya (runout) Lahiru Thirimanne2484
M. Pushpakumara b Vishwa Fernando1947
Mohomed Dilshad c Kaushal Silva b Dilruwan Perera416
V. Fernando232881 3.83
Kavishka Anjula175522 3.06
Dushmantha Chameera111310 2.82
L. Embuldeniya3711472 3.97
Dilruwan Perera3451063 3.12
D.De.Silva82130 1.63
Shehan Jayasuriya110310 2.82
476/10 (141 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-0, 2-3, 3-10, 4-22, 5-224, 6-321, 7-370, 8-431, 9-461, 10-476

Dambulla vs Kandy

The other clash played between Dambulla and Kandy also ended in a draw today at Katunayake with Dambulla winning first innings points. The Dambulla team resumed day four on 163 runs for 7 wickets and overnight batsmen Sachithra Senanayake and Milinda Siriwardana continued to pile runs on the board building a very valuable 119-run partnership for the eighth wicket.

Sachithra Senanayake was dismissed for 60 runs by leg spinner Jeewan Mendis; his innings included 4 fours and 2 massive sixes. Siriwardana stroked an elegant 71 runs off 118 balls that included 7 boundaries. Speedsters Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara picked up 3 wickets each for Kandy.

Chasing 373 runs to win, the experienced Tharanga Paranavithana and Mahela Udawatte opened the innings but they could not get a strong start to their innings as the former was dismissed for just 9 runs. Number three batsman Charith Asalanka and  Udawatte joined together and put on a solid 68-run partnership for the second wicket.

After the departure of Charith Asalanka for 30 runs, skipper Niroshan Dickwella and Udawatte guided the innings with an unbeaten 127-run partnership for the fourth wicket as both captains agreed to call off the game around 4.30 pm. Udawatte showed his class with the bat, scoring 103 runs off 137 balls which included 11 fours. The skipper  Dickwella supported him well at the other end stroking 56 runs off 88 balls which included 3 fours.


Full Scorecard

Team Dambulla's 1 st Inning

Team Dambulla

480/10 & 256/10

(65.5 overs)


Team Kandy

364/10 & 221/2

(56.2 overs)

Match Drawn

Team Dambulla’s 1st Innings

D. Karunaratne lbw by Kasun Rajitha71108
BKG Mendis b Kasun Rajitha810
Nipun Karunanayake c Kasun Rajitha b Chamika Karunaratne626
A. Priyanjan c Charith Asalanka b Lahiru Kumara156239
Sachithra Serasinghe c Niroshan Dickwella b Kasun Rajitha01
M. Siriwardana b Lahiru Kumara610
M. Sarathchandra lbw by Prabath Jayasuriya5772
Ishan Jayaratne c Charith Asalanka b Jeewan Mendis3528
S. Senanayake c Minod Bhanuka b Chamika Karunaratne105109
J.Vandersay not out939
L. Gamage c Charith Asalanka b Lahiru Kumara521
L. Kumara22.411053 4.69
Kasun Rajitha224893 4.05
C. Karunaratne120802 6.67
P. Jayasuriya321941 2.94
C. Asalanka91390 4.33
J. Mendis121591 4.92
480/10 (109.4 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-16, 2-59, 3-129, 4-137, 5-145, 6-243, 7-298, 8-389, 9-474, 10-480

Team Kandy’s 1st Innings

T. Paranawithana c Dimuth Karunaratne b Lahiru Gamage640
M Udawatte c Manoj Sarathchandra b Sachithra Serasinghe97169
C. Asalanka (runout) Sachithra Senanayake3071
N. Dickwella c Manoj Sarathchandra b Lahiru Gamage112154
Priyamal Perera b Lahiru Gamage62118
J. Mendis c Sachithra Serasinghe b Sachithra Senanayake619
C. Karunaratne lbw by Lahiru Gamage05
P. Jayasuriya c Dimuth Karunaratne b Lahiru Gamage010
L. Kumara c Lahiru Gamage b Sachithra Serasinghe624
Kasun Rajitha not out518
L. Gamage266715 2.73
Ishan Jayaratne140550 3.93
S. Senanayake3210911 2.84
D. Karunaratne3070 2.33
Sachithra Serasinghe16.20392 2.41
A. Priyanjan20180 9.00
M. Siriwardana30140 4.67
J.Vandersay81350 4.38
364/10 (104.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-35, 2-110, 3-186, 4-318, 5-340, 6-340, 7-340, 8-345, 9-364, 10-364