Cambrians take control on Day one

Singer U19 Division I Cricket Tournament 2019/20


Two traditional fixtures in the Singer Schools ‘Under 19 Division 1’ Two Day Cricket Tournament 2019/20 commenced today at Galle and Kandy. 

Prince of Wales College Vs Mahinda College

The traditional fixture between Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa and Mahinda College, Galle was worked off today at the Galle International stadium as the Cambrians won the toss and elected to bat first.

Prince of Wales’ College made a decent total for their first innings thanks to an impressive half century from south paw Tharindu Amarasinghe. With useful contributions from Vinuja Ranpul and Ashan Fernando, the visitors reached 232.

Left arm orthodox spinner Kushan Madusha was the chief destroyer of Prince of Wales innings as he sent 6 Cambrians back to the dressing room. At stumps, Mahinda College were two down for 43; Most of the scoring was done by Kaushitha Kodithuwakku who remained unbeaten at 28.

Brief Scores

Prince of Wales College, Moratuwa – 232 (76.2) | Tharindu Amarasinghe 59, Vinuja Ranpul 32, Ashan Fernando 31, Omesh Mendis 28, Binura Fernando 24, Kushan Madusha 6/67, Subanu Rajapaksha 2/55 

Mahinda College, Galle – 43/2 (16) | Kaushitha Kodithuwakku 28*

Stumps – Day 01

All-rounder Nipun Dhananjaya guides St. Joseph Vaz to victory

The Group D fixture between St. Joseph Vaz College and Zahira College in the Singer Schools…………..

Rahula College Vs Dharmaraja College

Rahula College, Matara and Dharmaraja College, Kandy locked horns in another traditional fixture at Dharmaraja College Grounds as the hosts decided to take the field after winning the toss.

Rahula boys, led by Chamuditha Dilshans’ timely knock of 36, crawled to 198 after 54.4 overs. Rajan off spinner Sahan Siriwardane showcased an excellent display of spin bowling as he took 5 wickets for just 45 runs. Dharmaraja College ended the day at 39/2 as Chamodh Pushpa struck late in the day to dismiss 2 wickets.

Brief Scores

Rahula College, Matara – 198 (54.4) | Chamuditha Dilshan 36, Bhagya Ediriweera 30, Lakindu Chamodhya 29, Chamodh Pushpa 25, Sahan Siriwardane 5/45, Thushan Hearath 2/36

Dharmaraja College, Kandy – 39/2 (19) | Dulaj Bandara 20* Chamodh Pushpa 2/15

Stumps – Day 01

>>More Cricket News<<