The U17 Cricket Pre-Quarter Finalists for 2018

Under 17 cricket Tournament 2018


A new Champion will be crowned this year, as defending champions St. Servatius College Matara and ‘A division’ schools knocked out of the final 16.  

The first two rounds of the singer schools u17 cricket tournament which ran over 3 months at different venues all over the Island have been completed. And now we are down to the 16 teams who have earned promotion to the knock-out stages of the Pre-quarter finals.

The tournament kicked off in May featuring 74 teams in the first round on a league basis divided into 10 groups. It later cut down to 32 teams divided into 8 groups where the top 2 teams of each group have now earned themselves promotion.

The Pre-Quarter finals will be played on a Knock-out basis, and 8 teams will qualify to the quarter-finals round.

St. Servatius College Matara who were crowned champions last year, surprisingly failed to qualify for the second round this year. The second division schools strung up quite a few surprises as many of the ‘A division’ schools were knocked out from the group stages. Richmond College, Trinity College and St. Aloysius College Galle were big names in ‘A division’ cricket who were knocked out of the tournament after poor performances during the season.

Ananda College was lucky to have qualified on ‘Net Run-Rate’ breaking the hearts of Mahanama College who initially defeated Ananda College but lost to Piliyandala Central in their last group fixture.

The 16 teams are as follows

Nalanda College Colombo

Prince of Wales College Moratuwa 

S.Thomas’ College Mt Lavinia

Ananda College Colombo 10

St. Peter’s College Colombo

Royal College Colombo

St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa

Isipathana College Colombo

St. Joseph’s College Colombo

Thurstan College Colombo

Gurukula Vidyalaya – Kelaniya

St. Anthony’s College Wattala

St. Anthony’s College Katugasthota

Dharmaraja College Kandy

Mahinda College Galle

Maliyadeva College Kurunegala

All Pre-Quarter finals must be concluded on or before the 22nd of August 2018.

The Fixtures are as follows.

18th August 2018St. Joseph’s College vs Isipathana CollegeSt.Joseph’s Grounds Maradana
20th August 2018Mahinda College vs Prince of Wales CollegeGalle Interntional stadium
20th August 2018Gurukula Vidyalaya vs Royal CollegeMahara Prison Grounds
21st August 2018S. Thomas College vs Dharmaraja CollegeS. Thomas’ Grounds Mount Lavinia
21st August 2018St. Anthony’s College vs Ananda CollegeSt.Anthony’s Grounds Katugasthota
22nd August 2018St. Sebastian’s College vs Thurstan CollegeSt.Sebastian’s Grounds Moratuwa
 TBCSt. Peter’s College vs St. Anthony’s College WattalaSt. Peter’s’ Grounds Bambalapitiya
 TBCNalanda College vs Maliyadeva CollegeNalanda Grounds