St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa are hungry for a win at the 67th Battle of the Golds against rivals Prince of Wales on the 10th & 11th of March at De Zoyza Stadium, Moratuwa.

Visit the Schools Cricket Hub

A bit of History

Much like their counterparts Prince of Wales College, St. Sebastian’s have also produced National cricketers in the calibre of Duleep Mendis, Romesh Kaluwitharana & Roger Wijesuriya, who incidentally holds the record for the most number of wickets (22) in the series during 1975-1979. Brothers Roger and Russel Wijesuriya went on to represent Sri Lanka at the U19 level while Sanitha de Mel & Anuk Fernando did so in the more recent past. Sanitha De Mel captained the Sri Lanka U19 team in the 2012 World Cup while the last win in the Battle of the Gold’s came under his reign. Anuk Fernando represented the Sri Lanka U19 side in 2014 as well.

Talented batsman Avishka Fernando who represented Sri Lanka in the ODIs against Australia recently and led the youth team to a memorable series win against England U19s will be taking part in this year’s big match.

Key Players

The lads from Moratuwa will led by the U19 Youth player Mishane Silva and his deputy will be Nimesh Bandara who has scored over 650 runs during the season with the highest being 132 against St. Anthony’s Wattala, All-rounder Tharusha Fernando have also being a key figure with over 700 runs and his unbeaten 200 against DS Senanayake College is the best of the lot as they have a strong batting line up. Youth left-arm Spinner Praveen Jayawickrama will lead the bowling attack yet again and he will be supported by Leg Spinner Tharusha Fernando and off-Spinner Nimesh Bandara has 30 wickets under their belt.

Photo Album: St. Sebastian’s College Cricket Team Preview 2016/17

St. Sebastian’s College played 15 games so far and won two matches in the season and lost two games due to the absence of their three Youth players.

Coaching Staff

Imal Botheju will be the coach of the team for the 2nd year and Frank Cooray will be looking after the team as the Master in charge.

Final Say

With all the Youth players are available in the big match St. Sebastian’s College will be the favourites in this year’s 67th Battle of the Golds.

St. Sebastian’s Squad

Mishane Silva (C), Nimesh Bandara, Avishka Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama, Asher Warnakulasuriya, Damian De buyzer, Malintha Peiris, Prashein Fernando, Thasik Perera, Nishitha Abilash, Dulaj Salinka, Tharusha Fernando, Vimukthi De Mel, Samith Peiris, Nikhil Fernando, Namoshka De Silva, Praveen Cooray, Nuwanidu Fernando, Gihan Senanayake.

St. Sebastian’s College 2016/17 Cricket season