Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka face another thrashing despite Atapattu ton

Sri Lanka face another thrashing despite Atapattu ton

Sri Lanka Women’s Tour of Australia 2019 | 3rd ODI


Chamari Atapattu made her way to another ODI century against World Number 1s Australia at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane, but Sri Lanka still lost the 3rd and final ODI between the sides by 9 wickets, surrendering the series 3-0.

Having set the visitors 196 to win after winning the toss and batting, Sri Lanka were expected to put up more of a fight in restricting the Australians, especially on a pitch that was slowing down nicely for the spinners. However, it was Alyssa Healy once again, the batter who has tormented the Sri Lankans all tour, who smashed a century in just 71 deliveries, to take the Aussies home with nearly half their overs to spare.

Read More : All-round Aussies too good for Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka went with Yasoda Mendis in this game alongside Atapattu to open the innings, but yet again it did not pay off for the visitors as she was dismissed by Ellyse Perry in just the 3rd over of the game. This brought together Sri Lanka’s 2 most in form batters to the crease and the pair – Harshitha Samarawickrama and Atapattu put on 55 runs for the 2nd wicket before an ill-judged quick single saw the former caught short of the crease. Samarawickrama has looked promising with the bat on tour and will be disappointed that she was unable to kick on yet again, making scores of 24, 39 and 22 in the ODIs.

Three more quick wickets by Georgia Wareham and Nicola Carey stalled Sri Lanka’s progress but Atapattu kept picking up the boundaries from one end to keep the scoreboard ticking over. The left-hander brought up her 5th ODI hundred with a single down the ground in the 47th over and was dismissed soon after as Sri Lanka finished on 196.

Atapattu’s ton was incidentally only the 7th time a visiting player had made a century against Australia at home.

Read More : Samarawickrama, Meegama impress despite heavy loss

The chase was set up beautifully by Australia’s opening pair of Healy and Rachel Haynes and then finished off by skipper Meg Lanning as the hosts got to the target with 23 overs and 9 wickets in hand.

The win, Australia’s 18th on the trot, helped them go past their own World record of 17 consecutive wins in Women’s ODIs, established between 1997 and 1999.


Srilanka Women
195/8 (50)
Australia Women
196/1 (26.5)
Chamari Athapaththu c Nicola Carey b Delissa Kimmince10312412083.06
Yasoda Mendis b Ellyse Perry350060.00
Harshitha Madavi run out (Alyssa Healy)24483050.00
Anushka Sanjeewani c & b Georgia Wareham7180038.89
Shashikala Siriwardene lbw b Nicola Carey140025.00
Nilakshi de Silva c Megan Schutt b Georgia Wareham150020.00
Ama Kanchana b Megan Schutt17491034.69
Oshadi Ranasinghe b Megan Schutt17361047.22
Achini Kulasuriya not out121120109.09
Sugandika Kumari not out00000.00
Extras10 (b 0 , lb 1 , nb 0, w 9, pen 0)
Total195/8 (50 Overs, RR: 3.9)
Fall of Wickets 1-13 (2.5) Yasoda Mendis, 2-68 (17.1) Harshitha Madavi, 3-85 (22.3) Anushka Sanjeewani, 4-86 (23.2) Shashikala Siriwardene, 5-87 (24.1) Nilakshi de Silva, 6-136 (37.5) Ama Kanchana, 7-183 (47.6) Oshadi Ranasinghe, 8-183 (48.1) Chamari Athapaththu,
Ellyse Perry612614.33
Megan Schutt1004424.40
Ashleigh Gardner803304.12
Jess Jonassen611903.17
Nicola Carey1022812.80
Georgia Wareham401824.50
Delissa Kimmince612614.33

Rachael Haynes lbw b Chamari Athapaththu63747085.14
Alyssa Healy not out11276152147.37
Meg Lanning not out201130181.82
Extras1 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 1, pen 0)
Total196/1 (26.5 Overs, RR: 7.3)
Fall of Wickets 1-159 (22.3) Rachael Haynes,
Udeshika Prabodhani302107.00
Achini Kulasuriya503106.20
Sugandika Kumari403609.00
Oshadi Ranasinghe403408.50
Shashikala Siriwardene704206.00
Chamari Athapaththu3.503219.14