Sri Lanka batsmen warm-up perfectly in Kolkata

courtesy : AFP

Sri Lanka had a perfect batting day ahead of the three-match Test series posting 411 for 6 on day one in their two-day practice match against India Board President’s XI in Kolkata.

After being sent into bat, the newest opening combination – Sadeera Samarawickrama and Dimuth Karunaratne for the islanders gave a solid start for the visitors adding 134 runs. Right-handed Samarawickrama smashed 13 elegant fours during his 77-ball 74 before falling to seamer Avesh Khan.

Sri Lanka may revert to ‘Four-bowler’ strategy, reveals skipper Dinesh Chandimal

Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal dropped hints that unlike five-pronged…

In-form Karunarathne scored 7 fours during his 62-ball 50 before leaving out to give opportunities for the rest of the players. Lahiru Thirimanna batting at number 3 failed to capitalize on perfect conditions as he was undone for just 17 runs.

Former captain Angelo Mathews retuning from injury scored a timely 54 off 93 balls at his new batting position, number 4 before retiring out. The current skipper Dinesh Chandimal also scored 29 before allowing the lower order some batting practice.

Wicket-keeper batsman Niroshan Dickwella scored a blistering, unbeaten 59-ball 73 with 13 fours and got ample support from Dilruwan Perera and Roshen Silva who made 48 and 36* as the visitors ended on 411 for 6 wickets at stumps.

Former skipper to take on new role with the bat

Reports suggest that former Captain of the Sri Lanka Cricket team…

The home team was made up entirely of players from teams not involved in the ongoing fifth round of the Ranji Trophy. Their lackluster bowling attack however had the services in off-spinner Jalaj Saxena, the top wicket-taker of the current Ranji season; who went for more than four an over, ending the day with figures of 22-0-100-1.

The match will be continued tomorrow for second and final day.

Sri Lanka – 411/6 in 88 overs: Sadeera Samarawickrama 74, Dimuth Karunaratne 50, Angelo Mathews 54, Dinesh Chandimal 29, Niroshan Dickwella 73*, Dilruwan Perera 48, Roshen Silva 36*, Akash Bandari 2/111, Sandeep Warrier 2/60.