Sri Lanka handed thrashing in 1st T20I

England Women tour of Sri Lanka – 1st T20I


Hosts Sri Lanka suffered another heavy defeat at the hands of England in the teams’ 1st T20I at the Psara Oval earlier today. Sri Lanka also lost the preceding ODI series 3-0.

Photos: Sri Lanka Women vs England Women | 1st T20I

Having won the toss and elected to bat first, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals and ended up posting just 94 runs on the board in 19 overs before they were bowled out. Just 3 players were able to get to double figures, with Oshadi Ranasinghe, who had a good ODI series with the bat, finishing as top-scorer with 20 to her name.

Interestingly, the hosts looked to play more attacking cricket in this game, in comparison to how they played in the ODIs and at the end of the 7th over had 51 runs on the board. However, those 51 runs came at the expense of 5 wickets – meaning they could not sustain the scoring rate far beyond that point.

England were clinical as always, with all their bowlers chipping in with wickets. Debutant Freya Davies and Anya Schrubsole picked up 2 wickets a piece while left arm spinner Linsey Smith claimed 3/18 to ensure that England had a below par target to chase down.

Harshitha Madavi moves up 54 places in WODI Rankings

England captain Heather Knight and fast bowler Anya Shrubsole have inched towards the top 10 for…

Danni Wyatt, who had batted down the order in the ODIs, opened the innings alongside Tammy Beaumont and the pair got England off to a flier before Sri Lankan skipper Chamari Atapattu picked up Wyatt.

Beaumont went on to get a half century while Amy Jones and chipped in as England got to their target with more than 5 overs to spare.

The two teams will meet for the 2nd game of the 3-match series on Tuesday 26th at the same venue.

>>Women’s Cricket Hub<<


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka Women


(19 overs)


England Women


(14.2 overs)

ENGW won by 8 wickets

Sri Lanka Women’s Innings

Anushka Sanjeewani c Davies b Shrubsole58
Chamari Athapatthu b Shrubsole87
Umesha Thimashini lbw by Davies98
Shashikala Siriwardena b Smith02
Imalka Mendis c & b Sciver1416
Harshitha Madavi (runout) Shrubsole55
Hansima Karunarathne b Davies1935
Nilakshi de Silva b Marsh02
Oshadi Ranasinghe not out2024
Achini Kulasuriya st Jones b Smith15
Inoshi Priyadarshani lbw by Smith02
13 (lb 1, w 12)
94/10 (19 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-18 (AC Jayangani, 2.2 ov), 2-19 (MAA Sanjeewani, 2.6 ov), 3-27 (U Thimashini, 3.5 ov), 4-38 (HASD Siriwardene, 5.1 ov), 5-51 (H Madavi, 7.1 ov), 6-55 (HIS Mendis, 7.6 ov), 7-56 (NND de Silva, 8.5 ov), 8-87 (H Karunaratne, 17.2 ov), 9-94 (WGAKK Kulasuriya, 18.4 ov), 10-94 (SIP Fernando, 18.6 ov)
NR Sciver2061 3.00
FR Davies40282 7.00
A Shrubsole30202 6.67
LCN Smith40183 4.50
LA Marsh40141 3.50
SIR Dunkley2070 3.50

England Women’s Innings

DN Wyatt c Fernando b Jayangani1514
TT Beaumont not out5043
AE Jones (runout) S Siriwardene1820
NR Sciver not out119
1 (w 1)
95/2 (14.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-29 (DN Wyatt, 3.5 ov), 2-68 (AE Jones, 10.4 ov)
Inoshi Priyadarshani30240 8.00
Achini Kulasuriya1090 9.00
Chamari Athapatthu30141 4.67
Hansima Karunarathne30180 6.00
Oshadi Ranasinghe10100 10.00
Shashikala Siriwardene2.20150 6.82
Nilakshi de Silva1050 5.00