Home Cricket National Cricket Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in a T20I after almost 6 years

Sri Lanka beat Pakistan in a T20I after almost 6 years

Pakistan tour of Sri Lanka 2019 – 1st T20I

Sri Lanka's cricketers celebrates the dismissal of Pakistan's cricketer Kamran Akmal (unseen) during the first Twenty20 International cricket match between Pakistan and Sri Lanka at the Gaddafi stadium in Lahore on October 5, 2019. - Sri Lanka, boosted by a career-best half century from opener Danushka Gunathilaka, posted 165-5 against Pakistan in the first Twenty20 international in Lahore. (Photo by ARIF ALI / AFP)

The young and inexperienced Sri Lanka T20I outfit sans their regular leader beat the world’s number 1 ranked T20I team Pakistan today in the 1st game of the 3-match T20 series at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Sri Lanka started to smell victory early in the second innings when Nuwan Pradeep removed cousin brothers, Babar Azam and Umar Akmal in consecutive balls of the 2nd over. This boosted the entire Lankan camp, who were energetic and lighting quick in defending their 165-run target.

Amir reaches career-best seventh place in ODI Rankings

Significant gains have been made by Pakistan players in the latest update of the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI………….

Stand-in skipper Dasun Shanaka led the team by example, claiming a brilliant run-out to break the most threatening stand of the Pakistani innings between skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed and top-scorer Iftikhar Ahmed. 

The wrist-spinning duo Lakshan Sandakan and Wanindu De Silva then made things really tight with some disciplined bowling to increase Pakistan’s required run-rate and build pressure on them. Sandakan however finished wicket-less despite a probing spell of 4 overs while Hasaranga finished with 2 wickets.

The fast bowlers gave nothing away as T20 specialist Isuru Udana finished off things with two back to back wickets to go with his early wicket of Ahmed Shehzad. As the two experienced seamers shared 6 wickets, young Kasun Rajitha finished his economical spell with a wicket. Interestingly, the Lankans managed the dew factor in Lahore smartly, avoiding the disadvantage they were expected to have when Sarfaraz Ahmed won the toss and opted field first (before the dew gets worse).

Early in the day, Danushka Gunathilaka once again set the tone for Sri Lanka to go on and set a competitive total of 165 along with Avishka Fernando, who surprisingly didn’t look in his natural rhythm. However, he managed to rotate the strike and made sure to keep the scoreboard ticking.

Debutant Bhanuka Rajapaksa made the most of opportunity as he smashed the Pakistani bowlers to score 32 runs of just 22 deliveries, making a strong statement about his quality as a T20 batsman. His innings eventually ended as the first wicket of 19-year old Mohammad Hasnain’s first international hat-trick.

Hasnain’s hat-trick was completed with the wickets of Dasun Shanaka and Shehan Jayasuriya. Unfortunately for Sri Lanka this hat-trick dented their progress and restricted them to 165.

Interestingly this is Sri Lanka’s first win against Pakistan in a T20I since they last beat them in December 2013 under the leadership of Dinesh Chandimal in Dubai. 

>>> Visit the #PAKvSL Hub <<<


Sri Lanka
165/5 (20)
101/10 (17.4)
Danushka Gunathilaka lbw b Shadab Khan573881150.00
Avishka Fernando run out (Shadab Khan)33343097.06
Bhanuka Rajapaksha lbw b Mohammad Hasnain322222145.45
Dasun Shanaka c Babar Azam b Mohammad Hasnain171002170.00
Shehan Jayasuriya c Shadab Khan b Mohammad Hasnain260033.33
Isuru Udana not out5400125.00
Wanindu Hasaranga not out7610116.67
Extras12 (b 0 , lb 6 , nb 0, w 6, pen 0)
Total165/5 (20 Overs, RR: 8.25)
Fall of Wickets 1-84 (9.4) Danushka Gunathilaka, 2-120 (14.4) Avishka Fernando, 3-135 (15.6) Bhanuka Rajapaksha, 4-153 (18.1) Dasun Shanaka, 5-153 (18.2) Shehan Jayasuriya,
Imad Wasim402406.00
Faheem Ashraf3031010.33
Mohammad Hasnain403739.25
Mohammad Amir402506.25
Shadab Khan403518.75
Iftikhar Ahmed10707.00

Babar Azam c Minod Bhanuka b Nuwan Pradeep131020130.00
Ahmed Shehzad b Isuru Udana490044.44
Umar Akmal lbw b Nuwan Pradeep00000.00
Sarfaraz Ahmed b Wanindu Hasaranga24301080.00
Iftikhar Ahmed run out (Lakshan Sandakan)252420104.17
Asif Ali c Danushka Gunathilaka b Wanindu Hasaranga6100060.00
Imad Wasim c Wanindu Hasaranga b Kasun Rajitha7510140.00
Faheem Ashraf c Danushka Gunathilaka b Nuwan Pradeep8810100.00
Shadab Khan c Avishka Fernando b Isuru Udana671085.71
Mohammad Amir c Danushka Gunathilaka b Isuru Udana120050.00
Mohammad Hasnain not out00000.00
Extras7 (b 0 , lb 5 , nb 0, w 2, pen 0)
Total101/10 (17.4 Overs, RR: 5.72)
Fall of Wickets 1-13 (1.5) Babar Azam, 2-13 (1.6) Umar Akmal, 3-22 (4.2) Ahmed Shehzad, 4-68 (11.4) Iftikhar Ahmed, 5-76 (13.2) Sarfaraz Ahmed, 6-85 (14.4) Imad Wasim, 7-87 (15.2) Asif Ali, 8-96 (16.4) Faheem Ashraf, 9-101 (17.3) Shadab Khan, 10-101 (17.4) Mohammad Amir,
Kasun Rajitha402015.00
Nuwan Pradeep302137.00
Isuru Udana2.401134.58
Wanindu Hasaranga402025.00
Lakshan Sandakan402406.00