A sixteen member squad has been finalized by the Sri Lanka Badminton Association ahead of the BWF World Junior Mixed Team Championships that is expected to take place in Bilbao Spain from the 2nd to the 6th of November 2016.

The BWF World Juniors is an international event that has a participation of over 50 countries that will compete to take home the title. It will be a team based encounter where each team will be competing initially in a group stage and later advance forward towards the knockout stages.

The Sri Lankan squad comprises of the top talent from the schools arena and have a majority representation from Richmond College Galle. The sixteen member squad comprises of five girls and eleven boys and practises are currently underway at the Sri Lanka Badminton Federation courts.

The girls’ team is coached by Subash Janaka and the boys’ team is under Chameera Kumarapperuma. The team is expected to leave for Spain on the 31st of October 2016.

1. Inuri Kuruppu – Visakha Vidyalaya
2. Lasangana Hettiarachchi – Visakha Vidyalaya
3. Sewmina Gunatilleke – Ananda College
4. Shamika Hasaranga – Dharmasoka College Ambalangoda
5. Pasindu Palliyaguruge – Richmond College Galle
6. Madhuka Dulanjana – Ananda College Colombo
7. Buthmi Galagamage – Sirimavo Bandaranayake College
8. Nayanathara Teshani – Anula Vidyalaya
9. Kavishka Gunarathna – Sangamitta Girls School Galle
10. Hasara Wijayarathne – Vidura College
11. Kasun Amarasena- Richmond College Galle
12. Umindu Liyanage- Richmond College Galle
13. Ranthushka Sasindu – Nalanda College
14. Thevin Rahubedda- Royal College
15. Mohammed Shaadhir – St. Anthony’s College Kandy
16. Thilina Gonapinuwala – Richmond College Galle