Sri Lanka Sevens Squad named for Borneo 7s

Danushka Ranjan

National rugby selectors have picked a squad of fifteen for the Borneo 7s which will be held next week in Malaysia.

This squad will be shortened to twelve men by Friday and the team will depart next Wednesday the 15th. Borneo 7s has been a famous event as many of the former and current international stars represent this invitational tournament.

The Borneo 7s is an annual invitational Asia Pacific cross-regional tournament where clubs and countries play in the same the league.

This will be first time the islanders will play under former New Zealand 7s player Peter Wood who was appointed the national 7s coach recently.

Read: Sri Lanka to sign new Rugby 7s coach

After this tournament Sri Lanka will play in the World Rugby Sevens Qualifiers in Hong Kong from 7th – 9th April. That tournament will comprise of 16 international teams and only the champions will be promoted for the World sevens series.

The squad

Danushka Ranjan, Srinath Sooriyabandara, Danush Dayan, Jason Dissanayake, Richard Dharmapala, Suhiru Anthony (Kandy SC)
Sudarshana Muthuthanthri, Kevin Dixon, Nishon Perera (Havelocks)
Kavindu Perera, Anuradha Herath, Omalka Gunarathne (CR&FC)
Dinusha Chathuranga, Saliya Handapangoda (Navy SC)
Reeza Raffaideen (Police SC)