Sri Lanka preliminary squad for AFC U16 qualifiers


The Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) has picked a 30 player pool for the upcoming AFC U16 Championship 2018 Qualifiers.

FFSL conducted initial trials on the 17th and 18th of June at the City Football Complex. Trials for Northern, Eastern, Central and North Central Provinces were done on the 17th while Southern and Western Province trials were held on the 18th. The best players from the two trials were called for a final trial which was held on 24th June.

Sri Lanka in AFC U16 Championship 2018 qualifiers

The official draw for the AFC U16 Championship 2018 qualifiers took place at the AFC House in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Some 45 Member Associations from across Asia…

Of the 30 players selected around 10 players were in the squad for South Asia – Japan Four Nations tournament which was held in March 2017. The ten players include Ravikumar Thanujan, H.M.J.Chamod, Mohamed Rikas, Mohamed Rushkhan, Mohamed Umar, Mohamed Aashiq, Nabeel Nizam, Chamath Kodithuwakku, Sandeepa Vass and Vishalka Sulakshana.

There are 4 players from the north and east regions – Ravikumar Thanujan, K.Sudarshan, E.Diniayas and J.M.Rihan. From the Southern Province there is Shehan Brayan Weerappuli, Rumesh Mendis, Lakshan Dhananjaya and Navoth Vihanga.

There are three players from St.Joseph’s College, Anuradhapura – Akshath Mihiru Wijesooriya, Dhananjaya De Silva and Rasindu Rashmika Ranasinghe. Hameed Al Husseinie College and Maris Stella College is represented by two players each.

Squad (30 Players)                                                                                                     

1.R.ThanujanMahajana College, JaffnaFW
2.K.SudharshanSt.Henry’s College, JaffnaDF
3.E.DiniayasSt.Patrick’s College, JaffnaFW
4.J.M.RihanAligar Central College, BatticaloaMF
5.H.M.J.ChamodMaliyadeva Boys College, KurunegalaMF
6.R.M.R.D.G.RajapakshaNissanka MV, KurunegalaMF
7.N.W.P.Rasanda DilrukshaSt. Sebastian College, KatuneriyaDF
8.Mohamed AkramBerrawerds College, KandyFW
9.Mohamed RikasVision International College, KandyFW
10.M.R.M.RushkhanAjmeer National School, UkuwelaFW
11.M.A.Ashaktha Mihiru WijesooriyaSt. Joseph College, AnuradhapuraGK
12.H.M.A.Dhananjaya De SilvaSt. Joseph College, AnuradhapuraMF
13.R.A.Rasindu Rashmika RanasingheSt. Joseph College, AnuradhapuraMF
14.Mohamed UmarRanpokunugama MV, NittambuwaMF
15.M.NushkhanSt. Micheal’s College, ColomboGK
16.Mohamed AashiqHameed Al Husseinie CollegeFW
17.P.Ajith PrasanthHameed Al Husseinie CollegeFW
18.Anaaf AmeerSt. Peter’s College, ColomboGK
19.NabeelZahira College, ColomboDF
20.Chamath KodithuwakkuNalanda College, ColomboFW
21.N.F.M.ShifanMaris Stella College, NegomboFW
22.Sandeepa VassMaris Stella College, NegomboGK
23.M.I.M.MusharubAl-Hilal Central College, NegomboFW
24.Shehan Brayan WeerappuliRahula College, MatharaFW
25.Kasun DilharaDe Mazenod College, KandanaDF
26.Vishalka SulakshanaSt. Sylvester College, KandyFW
27.Rumesh MendisGintota MV, GalleDF
28.Lakshan DhananjayaVidyaloka MV, GalleMF
29.M.Navoth VihangaDheerananda MV, GalleFW
30.Shehan HarshanaKothalawala MV, RathmalanaMF

The squad comprises of 13 forwards, 5 defenders, 8 midfielders and 4 goalkeepers.