Sri Lanka Cricket has announced a provisional squad for the forthcoming Test series to be played against Pakistan from the 28th September to the 10th of October.

Experience speedster Dhammika Prasad is back after a shoulder injury and he will be available for selection. Prasad last played Tests in 2015 against West Indies before he picked up his injury during the England tour in 2016. He had claimed 41 wickets at 24 during 2015.

Sri Lanka’s limited over skipper Upul Tharanga has decided to concentrate more on white-ball cricket and has informed that he is unavailable for period of 6 months. He opened the batting for Sri Lanka against India recently accumulating 88 runs in 6 innings with one half century.

Kaushal Silva, the diminutive right-handed opening batsman who was dropped after the South Africa Tests have also been recalled.

Roshen Silva who has been a prolific performer in domestic cricket has also been added to the squad led by Dinesh Chandimal. Young batting stars, the highest domestic run-scorer in 2016/17,Sadeera Samarawickrama and former U19 Sri Lanka captain Charith Asalanka have also been added to the 25-member squad.

Shaminda Eranga is another key figure who missed out due to suspect action and he is all good to go after he was cleared by the ICC. Right-arm leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay who is yet to play Test cricket have also been named along with off-spinner Akila Dhananjaya.

Asela Gunaratne who suffered an injury during the first Test against India is yet to recover and will not feature in the Test series in middle east. Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Janith Perera have also not been named in the 25-man provisional squad.

The tour comprised of 2 Tests that includes a Day & Night game in UAE.

1. Dimuth Karunaratne
2. Kaushal Silva
3. Kusal Mendis
4. Dinesh Chandimal – Captain
5. Angelo Mathews
6. Lahiru Thirimanne
7. Niroshan Dickwella
8. Sadeera Samarawickrama
9. Rangana Herath
10. Suranga Lakmal
11. Nuwan Pradeep
12. Lakshan Sandakan
13. Vishwa Fernando
14. Lahiru Kumara
15. Jeffrey Vandersay
16. Milinda Siriwardana
17. Dhananjaya de Silva
18. Dushmantha Chameera
19. Dilruwan Perera
20. Malinda Pushpakumara
21. Roshen Silva
22. Akila Dananjaya
23. Charith Asalanka
24. Shaminda Eranga
25. Dhammika Prasad