Sri Lanka A go 1-0 up as Embuldeniya rips through Irish batting

Ireland A Tour of Sri Lanka 2019


Sri Lanka A managed to register a comprehensive victory over the touring Ireland A team in the 1st unofficial-test match between the two sides which concluded today at the Sinhalese Sports Club Grounds in Colombo.

Read More : Milinda Siriwardane and Kamindu Mendis lift Sri Lanka A

The Ireland A team’s last pair Jonathan Garth and James Cameron-Dow resumed day three on 182 runs for 9 wickets and added another 14 runs to the total before the latter was dismissed by off-spinner Ashan Priyanjan in the 55th over. Left arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya picked up a match bag of 9 wickets to demolish the Irish batting line-up. It set the hosts a target of 42 runs to chase and go 1-0 up in the series.

Photos : Ireland A Team Tour to Sri Lanka 2018/19 – 1st Four Day Game – Day 2

The Sri Lankan opening batsmen Pathum Nissanka and Avishka Fernando were in a hurry as they chased down the target in 6.5 overs. Pathum Nissanka scored 26 runs off 23 balls including 6 fours at a strike rate of 113.04 while Avishka Fernando stroked 16 runs off 18 balls with 2 boundaries at a strike rate of 88.88.

Photos: Ireland A Team Tour to Sri Lanka 2018/19 – 1st Four Day Game – Day 1

With this win, Sri Lanka A leads the two match series 1-0 and the second game between the two sides will commence on the 13th January at Mahinda Rajapakshe International Cricket Stadium in Sooriyawewa.

Read More : Siriwardane and Embuldeniya put Sri Lanka A close to victory

Stay logged onto to get the latest updates, scores, reports and photos on all the matches of Ireland A’s tour of Sri Lanka.

Photos: Ireland A Team Tour to Sri Lanka 2018/19 | 1st Four Day Game | Day 3


Full Scorecard

Ireland A

153/10 & 196/10

(54.3 overs)


Sri Lanka A

308/10 & 44/0

(6.5 overs)

SL A won by 10 wickets

Ireland A’s 1st Innings

S Doheny c Siriwardane b M Shiraz716
JA McCollum b L Ambuldeniya76108
A Gillespie lbw by M Shiraz26
JNK Shannon b M Shiraz03
H Tector b N Peiris010
L Tucker lbw by N Peiris02
MR Adair c M Sarathchandra b L Ambuldeniya119
N Rock c Fernando b M Shiraz2854
J Little b L Ambuldeniya521
JJ Garth c N Peiris b L Ambuldeniya1030
J Cameron-Dow not out718
7 (lb 1, nb 5, w 1)
153/10 (45.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-10 (S Doheny, 3.6 ov), 2-20 (A Gillespie, 7.1 ov), 3-21 (JNK Shannon, 7.3 ov), 4-41 (H Tector, 13.1 ov), 5-41 (L Tucker, 13.3 ov), 6-62 (MR Adair, 16.5 ov), 7-112 (N Rock, 30.3 ov), 8-129 (J Little, 35.3 ov), 9-136 (JA McCollum, 39.5 ov), 10-153 (JJ Garth, 45.2 ov)
Nisala Tharaka61200 3.33
Mohamed Shiraz131474 3.62
Lasith Ambuldeniya13.21464 3.48
Nishan Peiris110302 2.73
Ashan Priyanjan2090 4.50

Sri Lanka A’s 1st Innings

Pathum Nissanka b Cameron-Dow1141
Avishka Fernando c Tucker b Adair2031
Ashan Priyanjan c Tucker b Adair66
Angelo Perera c Tucker b Adair48
Milinda Siriwardane c Gillespie b Cameron-Dow104126
Kamindu Mendis b Cameron-Dow91135
Manoj Sarathchandra lbw by Cameron-Dow2038
Nisala Tharaka b Cameron-Dow611
Lasith Ambuldeniya c Hector b Cameron-Dow1023
Mohomed Shiraz c Adair b Cameron-Dow1741
Nishan Peiris not out510
14 (b 5, lb 2, nb 7)
308/10 (77.1 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-32 (WIA Fernando, 10.4 ov), 2-42 (SMA Priyanjan, 12.4 ov), 3-42 (P Nissanka, 13.1 ov), 4-46 (AK Perera, 14.6 ov), 5-233 (TAM Siriwardana, 54.6 ov), 6-252 (PHKD Mendis, 59.2 ov), 7-263 (NT Gamage, 63.2 ov), 8-276 (DM Sarathchandra, 65.3 ov), 9-297 (L Ambuldeniya, 73.4 ov), 10-308 (M Shiraz, 77.1 ov)
Joshua Little111670 6.09
James Cameron-Dow26.17777 2.95
Mark Adair143433 3.07
Jonathan Garth70280 4.00
Harry Tector110540 4.91
James Shannon80320 4.00

Ireland A’s 2nd Innings

S Doheny c K Mendis b L Ambuldeniya718
JNK Shannon lbw by L Ambuldeniya3247
A Gillespie c A Fernando b L Ambuldeniya1323
H Tector lbw by K Mendis116
L Tucker c M Siriwardane b M Shiraz2657
MR Adair c A Fernando b L Ambuldeniya1742
N Rock c N Tharaka b L Ambuldeniya1741
J Little c K Mendis b M Shiraz1810
JJ Garth not out1529
J Cameron-Dow b A Priyanjan1827
10 (b 4, lb 1, nb 5)
196/10 (54.3 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-16 (S Doheny, 5.3 ov), 2-40 (A Gillespie, 11.5 ov), 3-57 (JNK Shannon, 15.6 ov), 4-63 (H Tector, 18.4 ov), 5-103 (MR Adair, 33.2 ov), 6-103 (L Tucker, 34.1 ov), 7-123 (J Little, 36.5 ov), 8-156 (J Little, 36.5 ov), 9-162 (N Rock, 45.6 ov), 10-196 (J Cameron-Dow, 54.3 ov)
Nisala Tharaka81251 3.13
Mohamed Shiraz102472 4.70
Lasith Ambuldeniya216735 3.48
Nishan Peiris70290 4.14
Kamindu Mendis83131 1.63
Ashan Priyanjan0.3041 13.33

Sri Lanka A’s 2nd Innings

Pathum Nissanka not out2623
Avishka Fernando not out1618
2 (lb 2)
44/0 (6.5 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
Mark Adair30210 7.00
James Cameron-Dow31130 4.33
Jonathan Garth0.5080 16.00