Tharanga ton hands Sri Lanka A thumping win

Ireland A tour of Sri Lanka 2018/19


Sri Lanka A took a 2-0 lead with a crushing win against Ireland A as the second unofficial ODI came to an end early today at Hambantota.

Following a 60-run win in the 1st unofficial ODI, the Lankans decided to stick to the same trick and went in to put runs on board first. Skipper, Tharanga, walked in with the man in-form, Avishka Fernando. The pair gave another positive start to Sri Lanka with an 86-run stand upfront.

Avishka, followed his enterprising ton in the last game with a busy half-century, keeping the rate steep for the hosts. He had to walk back to the hut when he found Lorcan Tucker’s hands off a James Cameron-Dow delivery.

Following a brief stay at the crease by Shehan Jayasuriya (13) who was promoted up the order, in-came Angelo Perera to join the skipper at the centre. The pair added 61 runs to the score before Tharanga was caught by Cameron-Dow off Gareth Delany’s bowling.

Tharanga, who announced his form with 66 runs in the last game, backed it up with a conversion. He made an eye-catching 103 runs while holding up the innings for the latter power.

Another centurion from the last game, Milinda Siriwardana, failed to impress with just 1 run to his name.

With 15 overs to go and the team below the 200-run mark, walked in young Kamindu Mendis.

Angelo Perera and Kamindu Mendis put on a busy 128-run partnership in 14.1 overs. The pair did not go with the fire-power but rather depended on timing it precisely through the gaps and running between the wickets.

A true all-rounder: Meet ambidextrous spinner Kamindu Mendis

Kamindu Mendis, showed his versatility with the bat as he scored a brisk 76 runs off 50 balls which included 9 boundaries and a six. Angelo Perera scored an unbeaten 72 runs with 6 boundaries and a lot of running to match the young legs of Kamindu.

It was a double strike by lanky Udana that welcomed the Irish batsmen to their run-chase. They were startled in the very first over as Isuru Udana got the wickets column rolling ahead of runs. Both James Shannon and Stuart Thompson were dismissed without scoring.

Isuru Udana flares T20 brilliance in APL

The visitors faced yet another top-order collapse as the top 5 managed only 36 runs in between them. Isuru Udana and Kamindu Mendis provided early penetration to the host. Both picked up 2 wickets each.

Milinda Siriwardane and Kamindu Mendis lift Sri Lanka A

Mark Adair and Shane Getkate showed resistance down the order as the pair put on a 67-run stand for the 7th wicket. It was then that Upul Tharanga decided to bring in his vice-captain, Milinda Siriwardana to roll his arm. Mark fell prey to the plot soon. He departed being stumped by Minod Bhanuka at 43 runs.

Shane Getkate hung around with Gareth Delany for a while but Siriwardena was too much to handle. Shane fell at 56 opening the floodgates as the rest of the visitors perished in the same over. Siriwardana ended with 4 wickets to his name.

Sri Lanka tightened their grip with the second win in the series while Ireland will be hoping to stay alive in the series with a win in the next outing. The two teams will walk into the 3rd unofficial ODI at Colombo on Thursday, the 24th of January.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka A

337/5 & 0/0

(0 overs)


Ireland A

162/10 & 0/0

(0 overs)

SL A won by 175 runs

Sri Lanka A’s 1st Innings

Avishka Fernando c Tucker b Cameron-Dow5545
Upul Tharanga c Cameron-Dow b Delany103112
Shehan Jayasuriya c Rock b Tector1329
Angelo Perera not out7262
Milinda Siriwardane b Chase13
Kamindu Mendis c Thompson b Getkate7650
Isuru Udana not out62
11 (lb 1, nb 3, w 7)
337/5 (50 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-86 (WIA Fernando, 12.4 ov), 2-136 (GSNFG Jayasuriya, 23.4 ov), 3-197 (WU Tharanga, 34.4 ov), 4-198 (TAM Siriwardana, 35.1 ov), 5-326 (PHKD Mendis, 49.2 ov)
KD Chase90851 9.44
Mark Adair50420 8.40
James Cameron-Dow100321 3.20
SR Thompson30210 7.00
Harry Tector100501 5.00
G Delany80651 8.13
SC Getkate50411 8.20

Ireland A’s 1st Innings

JNK Shannon c M Bhanuka b I Udana01
JA McCollum c M Siriwardane b K Mendis1823
SR Thompson lbw by I Udana04
L Tucker c S Jayasuriya b I Jayarathne631
H Tector c A Fernando b K Mendis916
N Rock c I Udana b S Jayasuriya716
MR Adair st M Bhanuka b M Siriwardane4340
SC Getkate c K Mendis b M Siriwardane5655
G Delany lbw by M Siriwardane1526
J Cameron-Dow not out00
KD Chase c & b M Siriwardane03
8 (lb 5, w 3)
162/10 (35.5 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-0 (JNK Shannon, 0.1 ov), 2-0 (SR Thompson, 0.5 ov), 3-25 (JA McCollum, 7.6 ov), 4-29 (L Tucker, 10.5 ov), 5-36 (H Tector, 13.3 ov), 6-53 (N Rock, 17.3 ov), 7-120 (MR Adair, 27.3 ov), 8-162 (SC Getkate, 35.1 ov), 9-162 (G Delany, 35.2 ov), 10-162 (PKD Chase, 35.5 ov)
Isuru Udana5262 1.20
Asitha Fernando30140 4.67
Kamindu Mendis80332 4.13
Ishan Jayarathne40141 3.50
Shehan Jayasuriya20231 11.50
Jeewan Mendis70300 4.29
Milinda Siriwardane4.50264 5.78
Angelo Perera20110 5.50