South Africa women whitewash Sri Lanka

ICC Women's Championship – Sri Lanka Women’s tour of South Africa

Getty Images

After a gutsy performance in the first two women’s ODI’s, Sri Lanka women looked depleted as they lost their 3rd ODI again South Africa women in Potchefstroom.

Skipper Chamari Attapattu decided to bat first for the first time in the series after winning the toss on a gloomy day in Potchefstroom. The protea attack was on song from the very first ball as Attapattu fell for a golden duck off the very first ball she faced. Anushka Sanjeewani and Hasini Perera showed some resistance with the bat as the pair put on crucial 43 run partnership for the 3rd wicket. Stand in Skipper Sune Luus led the South Africans from front as she kept picking up wickets dejected at 139 all out inside 45 overs. Luus ended up with figures of 4 for 30 whilst Sanjeewani remained the top scorer for Sri Lanka on 28.

Chasing a target of 140 the protea lineup had a few hiccups as Inoka Ranaweera kept the South Africans trailing at 28 for the loss of 2 in the 8th over. South Africa raised their way to 141 for the loss of 4 wickets on the 39th over with Mignon Du Preez not out on 61.


Full Scorecard

Sri Lanka Women


(44.2 overs)


South Africa Women


(38.2 overs)

SAW won by 6 wickets

Sri Lanka Women’s Innings

Prasadini Weerakkody c M du Preez b M Kapp825
Chamari Athapatthu c F Tunnicliffe b S Ismail01
Anushka Sanjeewani c F Tunnicliffe b N Klerk2865
Hasini Perera c S Ismail b S Luus1544
Shashikala Siriwardena c F Tunnicliffe b S Luus516
Harshitha Madavi b S Luus2230
Nilakshi de Silva c M Kapp b S Luus930
Kavisha Dilhari not out1630
Oshadi Ranasinghe b N Klerk1219
Tharika Sewwandi (runout) S Ismail12
Inoka Ranaweera c M Kapp b M Klaas15
22 (b 3, lb 3, w 15, nb 1)
139/10 (44.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-1 (C Athapatthu, 0.5 ov), 2-17 (P Weerakkody, 7.2 ov), 3-60 (A Sanjeewani, 21.1 ov), 4-66 (H Perera, 24.2 ov), 5-75 (S Siriwardene, 26.3 ov), 6-101 (De Silva, 34.2 ov), 7-108 (H Madavi, 36.4 ov), 8-130 (O Ranasinghe, 41.2 ov), 9-132 (T Sewwandi, 41.6 ov), 10-139 (I Ranaweera, 44.2 ov)
Shabnim Ismail7481 1.14
Marizanne Kapp60201 3.33
Masabata Klaas6.21131 2.10
Tumi Sekhukhune71320 4.57
Nadine de Klerk101302 3.00
Sune Luus80304 3.75

South Africa Women’s Innings

Andrie Steyn b I Ranaweera1628
Laura Wolvaardt c H Perera b I Ranaweera616
Lara Goodall (runout) A Sanjeewani2545
Mignon du Preez not out5279
Sune Luus b I Ranaweera511
Nadine de Klerk not out1432
7 (lb 3, w 3, nb 1)
141/4 (38.2 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-22 (L Wolvaardt, 5.6 ov), 2-28 (A Steyn, 7.4 ov), 3-78 (L Goodall, 22.5 ov), 4-83 (S Luus, 24.5 ov)
Tharika Sewwandi20140 7.00
Inoka Ranaweera101233 2.30
Kavisha Dilhari60280 4.67
Shashikala Siriwardene101360 3.60
Oshadi Ranasinghe50130 2.60
Chamari Athapatthu1010 1.00
Nilakshi de Silva1070 7.00