Spirited Lankan women’s efforts go to waste in the final over

ICC Women's Championship – Sri Lanka Women’s tour of South Africa


After a whitewash in the T20 series the new look Sri Lankan women’s outfit gave a good fight to the Proteas before an excellent final over by Marizanne Klapp gave the South African women a thrilling 6 run victory.

A rain delayed start reduced the 1st ODI of the ICC Women’s Championship at Potchefstroom to 48 overs per side as Lankan skipper Chamari Attapattu elected to put the Proteas to bat first. Veteran left arm seamer Udeshika Prabodhani struck in her very first over as the Lioness’ opened their account with a roar.

South Africa seal the series despite Sri Lanka’s valiant fight

Sri Lanka women lost the 2nd match of the T20I series by 2 wickets…

Prabodhani’s attacking bowling routine reaped great rewards as she left the South African women’s team at bay restricting them to 29 for the loss of 2 wickets by the end of the mandatory power play overs . Proteas skipper Dane van Niekerk held the innings together as her watchful innings took South Africa past the one hundred run mark by the 25th over. The Lankan bowlers were very good in the field and the ball restricting the free flow of runs. Andrie Steyn together with Niekerk posted an important 137 run 3rd wicket partnership in the middle overs before Inoka Ranaweera trapped Steyn on 75 at her crease.

Read more: Luus, de Klerk called up for Sri Lanka ODIs as replacements

Niekerk went on to score a match saving 102 runs off 117 deliveries which proved nothing but a responsible captain’s knock. The Proteas posted a decent score of 225 for the loss of 7 wickets in their allocated 48 overs.

Chasing a target of 225 the Lankan women got off to a fantastic start as openers Anushka Sanjeewani and Prasadani Weerakkody took Sri Lanka to the fifty run mark in just 49 balls. Nierkerk was back in the game as the wrist spinner caught Sanjeewani LBW in the 11th over.

The Lankans still had a very healthy run rate but kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Shashikala Siriwardene once again was Sri Lanka’s liberator as she gave the Lankans some hope in the match. Siriwardene was sadly dismissed for 49 with the Lankans needing exactly another 49 runs off 38 balls.

Read more: “It’s time we come up with some good performances” – Chamari Athapaththu

Two suicidal run outs involving Prasadani Weerakkody and Achini Kulasuriya hurt the Lankan outfit as the Proteas were back again in the competition. A stubborn Nilakshi De Silva batted her way through to give Sri Lanka a chance as she took Sri Lanka inches close to the finish line. De Silva reduced the aggregate of 22 runs off 12 deliveries to 12 runs off 6 deliveries. 12 runs off the final over was a bit too much to ask for but with De Silva facing the music in the middle Lanka were hopeful.  Marizanne Klapp held her nerve in the final six deliveries conceding only 4 runs off the final over as South Africa cruised to a famous seven run win.



Full Scorecard

South Africa Women


(48 overs)


Sri Lanka Women


(48 overs)

South Africa Women’s Innings

Andrie Steyn lbw by I Ranaweera75100
Laura Wolvaardt c O Ranasinghe b U Probodhani01
Lara Goodall b U Probodhani1224
Dane van Niekerk c A Sanjeewani b O Ranasinghe102117
Mignon du Preez c S Siriwardene b O Ranasinghe1222
Marizanne Kapp c U Thimashini b A Kulasuriya1317
Faye Tunnicliffe b O Ranasinghe02
Shabnim Ismail not out13
Masabata Klaas not out22
8 (lb 2, w 6)
225/7 (48 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-6 (L Wolvaardt, 1.3 ov), 2-29 (L Goodall, 9.5 ov), 3-146 (A Steyn, 34.2 ov), 4-183 (M du Preez, 41.1 ov), 5-222 (D van Niekerk, 46.2 ov), 6-222 (F Tunnicliffe, 46.4 ov), 7-222 (M Kapp, 47.3 ov)
Achini Kulasuriya60251 4.17
Udeshika Prabodhani81392 4.88
Inoka Ranaweera100311 3.10
Shashikala Siriwardene60350 5.83
Oshadi Ranasinghe90403 4.44
Chamari Athapatthu90530 5.89

Sri Lanka Women’s Innings

Anushka Sanjeewani lbw by Van Niekerk1931
Prasadini Weerakkody c F Tunnicliffe b M Klaas4767
Chamari Athapatthu b Van Niekerk1527
Harshitha Madavi c Van Niekerk b M Klaas1636
Shashikala Siriwardena c F Tunnicliffe b M Klaas4956
Umesha Thimashini c M du Preez b T Sekhukhune25
Nilakshi de Silva not out3943
Oshadi Ranasinghe b T Sekhukhune69
Udeshika Prabodhani (runout) M Kapp03
Achini Kulasuriya (runout) A Steyn13
Inoka Ranaweera not out39
21 (b 4, lb 6, nb 1, w 10)
218/9 (48 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-57 (MAA Sanjeewani, 10.4 ov), 2-82 (AC Jayangani, 18.1 ov), 3-98 (PM Weerakkody, 25.1 ov), 4-112 (H Madavi, 29.6 ov), 5-126 (U Thimashini, 31.3 ov), 6-176 (HASD Siriwardene, 40.4 ov), 7-195 (OU Ranasinghe, 43.3 ov), 8-195 (KDU Prabodhani, 43.6 ov), 9-196 (WGAKK Kulasuriya, 44.4 ov)
Shabnim Ismail90410 4.56
Marizanne Kapp90380 4.22
Masabata Klaas70463 6.57
Tumi Sekhukhune101332 3.30
Dane van Niekerk101262 2.60
Mignon du Preez10130 13.00
Zintle Mali20110 5.50