Home Cricket Club Cricket Karunaratne strengthens World Cup case with solid half century

Karunaratne strengthens World Cup case with solid half century

SLC Super Provincial Limited Over Tournament


Team Kandy recorded a convincing 7 wicket win over Team Dambulla in their encounter worked off at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium.

Photos: Kandy vs Dambulla | Super Provincial One Day 2019

Dambulla who batted first was restricted to 198 all-out, with Angelo Mathews top scoring with 47 runs.

Oshada Fernando also made a useful 44 while Bhanuka Rajapakse and Ashan Priyanjan chipped in with 20s.

Rain arrives after Akila Dananjaya 5-fer

Thisara Perera bowled a top class spell going on to capture four scalps while Jeffrey Vandersay chipped in with two wickets.

The Kandy run chase was led by their skipper Dimuth Karunaratne who went on to make 86 runs off just 74 balls as they raced home inside 32 overs.

Karunaratne has made a strong case for selection for the 2019 World Cup after his consistent performances throughout the tournament.

Pathum Nissanka added the finishing touches for Kandy as he remained unbeaten on 51* while Sangeeth Cooray also made 33.



Team Kandy
199/3 (31.3)
Team Dambulla
198/10 (44.5)
Niroshan Dickwella c Pathum Nissanka b Kasun Rajitha2100020.00
Danushka Gunathilake c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Dilesh Gunaratne07000.00
Oshada Ferenado c Sachithra Senanayake b Jeffrey Vandersay44527084.62
Bhanuka Rajapakse c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Thisara Perera27323084.38
Angelo Mathews c Dimuth Karunaratne b Thisara Perera47673070.15
Ashan Priyanjan run out24290182.76
Ishan Jayaratne c Priyamal Perera b Chathuranga de Sliva11230047.83
Isuru Udana c Dimuth Karunaratne b Thisara Perera13261050.00
Ramitha Rambukwela c Sadeera Samarawickrama b Thisara Perera171640106.25
Prabath Jayasuriya st Sadeera Samarawickrama b Jeffrey Vandersay160016.67
Lahiru Gamage not out01000.00
Extras12 (b 0 , lb 4 , nb 0, w 8)
Total198/10 (44.5 Overs, RR: 4.42)
Kasun Rajitha713414.86
Dilesh Gunaratne402616.50
Dimuth Karunaratne201005.00
Thisara Perera712543.57
Malinda Pushapakumara1003103.10
Jeffrey Vandersay8.504024.71
Chathuranga de Sliva612814.67

Sadeera Samarawickrama c Ashan Priyanjan b Ishan Jayaratne12920133.33
Dimuth Karunaratne c Niroshan Dickwella b Ramitha Rambukwela867490116.22
Sangeeth Cooray c Ashan Priyanjan b Prabath Jayasuriya33464071.74
Pathum Nissanka not out514741108.51
Sachithra Senanayake not out131320100.00
Extras4 (b 0 , lb 3 , nb 0, w 1)
Total199/3 (31.3 Overs, RR: 6.32)
Lahiru Gamage6.314507.14
Ishan Jayaratne603816.33
Isuru Udana301806.00
Ramitha Rambukwela503116.20
Ashan Priyanjan301505.00
Prabath Jayasuriya804916.12