Seventh Seven’s World Cup


The Rugby World Cup Sevens has always been a tournament full of surprises. From the moment a young and underestimated, England side won the inaugural tournament in 1993 to Wales’ shocking success in 2009 – it has all happened in the 14 minute game.

The All Blacks and the Black Ferns will be defending their title this year after both the Men and Women from New Zealand made it a ‘double delight’ kind of year at Moscow in 2013.

The story so far in the Sevens World Cup is a unique one;

In Men’s Rugby World Cup Sevens, Fiji and New Zealand have each won the tournament twice. England and Wales have won a single tournament each, while Argentina, Australia and South Africa have reached tournament finals but not secured a title.

In 2009, the Women’s Rugby World Cup Sevens was introduced. Australia managed to clinch the first ever Women’s World Champion title after Shelly Matcham scored the winning try against South Africa 36 seconds into ‘Sudden death’. New Zealand’s Black Ferns made a comeback in the second edition of the tournament with the likes of Portia Woodman and Kayla McAllister who rose to the occasion.


1993 – England (21 – 17 Australia)
1997 – Fiji (24 – 21 South Africa)
2001 – New Zealand (31 – 12 Australia)
2005 – Fiji (29 – 19 New Zealand)
2009 – Wales (19 – 12 Argentina) / Women’s – Australia
2013 – New Zealand (33 – 0 England) / Women’s – New Zealand

The 5 Year Gap

After it was confirmed that Olympic rugby sevens would be added to the Rio de Janeiro games, World Rugby stated in 2013 that their intention was to end the World Cup Sevens. But fortunately, here we are five years later all set for the 7th World Cup Sevens Tournament. Hence, to maintain the right balance between both tournaments it was decided after the 2016 Rio Olympics that the World Cup will take place in 2018.

This Year

Unlike previous Rugby World Cup Sevens tournaments and the annual World Rugby Sevens Series events, in each of the genders, both competitions will be played in ‘knock-out’ only formats. 24 Men’s teams and 16 Women’s teams will partake this year, and the matches are set to carry out from the 20th to 22nd July at the AT & T Park in San Francisco USA.

Fixtures Day 1 (21st July Sri Lankan time)

Kenya Vs Tonga 1:31am
Canada Vs Papua New Guinea1:53am
France Vs Jamaica2:15am
Wales Vs Zimbabwe2:37am
Samoa Vs Uganda2:59am
Russia Vs Hong Kong3:21am
Japan Vs Uruguay3:43am
Ireland Vs Chile 4:05am
Scotland Vs TBC7:33am
Argentina Vs TBC7:55am
Australia Vs TBC8:17am
England Vs TBC8:39am
New Zealand Vs TBC 9:01am
Fiji Vs TBC 9:24am
Russia Vs TBC 9:45am
USA Vs TBC 10:07am

Schedule 2018