Sachith Pathirana stars with the bat; Saracens takes first innings points

SLC Premier League 2018/19


The Tier A encounter between Saracens Sports Club and Badureliya Sports Club in the SLC Premier League ended in a draw today at Surrey Village grounds in Maggona. However, first innings points were won by Saracens Sports Club thanks to the brilliant batting effort of Milinda Siriwardana and bowling effort of Gamindu Kanishka.  

Photos: Ragama CC Vs. SLPA SC | Major League Tier A Tournament 2018/19

Badureliya Sports Club resumed day three on 63 runs for 2 wickets and was bundled out for 186 runs in their first innings. Subramanian Anand (58) and Salinda Ushan (37) top scored for lads from Badureliya. Gamindu Kanishka was the pick of the bowlers for Saracens Sports Club as he took 4 scalps for 16 runs.

Read: Milinda Siriwardana puts Saracens on top

After being asked to follow on, Badureliya batsmen showed a much better batting display as they posted 215 runs for 5 wickets at stumps on day three. Experienced campaigner Sachith Pathirana top scored with 77 runs while Shiran Rathnayake contributed with a knock of 62 runs.

Read: 18-year old Mahesh Theekshana stars for Colts CC

Tatenda Taibu, the former Zimbabwe captain who returned to professional cricket at the age of 35 representing Sri Lankan first class side Badureliya Sports Club, managed to stroke a fine half century. Left arm spinner Chamikara Edirisinghe was brilliant with the ball picking up 4 wickets for Saracens.

Read: Axed Kaushal Silva puts SSC in control

Brief scores

Saracens Sports Club – 428/9d (147.1) Milinda Siriwardana 175, Chamikara Edirisinghe 53*, Pramod Maduwantha 52*, Andy Solomons 36, Ashen Bandara 33, Gamindu Kanishka 29, Saliya Saman 27, Sachith Pathirana 3/41, Buddika Sanjeewa 3/92, Alankara Asanka 2/78

Badureliya Sports Club – 186 (79.2) Subramanian Anand 58, Salinda Ushan 37, Sachith Pathirana 24, Shiran Rathnayake 24, Nadeera Nawala 21, Gamindu Kanishka 4/16, Sachithra Perera 2/31, Madura Lakmal 2/44 & 215/5 (48) Sachith Pathirana 77*, Shiran Rathnayake 62*, Tatenda Taibu 57, Chamikara Edirisinghe 4/34

Result – Match Drawn (Saracens Sports Club won first innings points)