S. Thomas’ Mount Lavinia proved too strong for the two-time champions of the Eric Hulangamuwa Trophy, from St. Thomas’ Matale and won their first ever Battle of the Thomians Hockey Encounter, at the Astro Hockey Turf, this evening

Royal maul over Wesley to take 5th consecutive title 

The opening fixture was won by the lads from Matale with a score line of 2-0. The Captains of the two teams at the Inaugural encounter were T. Wijethunga for Matale and P.R. Wanigasooriya for Mount Lavinia.

St. Thomas’ Matale leads the tally to date having won their second consecutive Shield in 2016. Tally reads as 2 – 0 in favor of Matale, as they won in 2015 (2-0) & 2016 (1-0). The 2017 encounter was a draw (0-0) which was disrupted by rain with both teams declared Joint Champions.

This year, the Thomian clan of Mount Lavinia, led by Devmal Palapathwala fielded a well-rounded side with 6 Colombo Schools’ representatives. One of those, Jeewanathan Prakash scored the match winning goal in the U19 battle, bringing his team the first taste of the Eric Hulangamuwa Trophy.

Ananda demolish Nalanda to end 6-year streak 

In a weather-beaten 60-minute game, Prakashs’ slap in the first half remained the only goal the Thomians needed to secure the win. Although the boys from Matale put up a stealthy fight in the second half, they couldn’t pierce through the tight defense led by skipper Palapathwala.

Same fate stood for the juniors of S. Thomas’ College as they managed to beat their opposition 2-0. The under 15 skipper for STC Mount, A Iflal scored their first goal in the opening half, which was followed by the second by K. D. K. Perera towards the latter part of the game.

>>Photos: Battle Of The Thomians’ 2018<<

The only silver lining for S. Thomas’ Matale was from their Old Boys’ game; They managed to defeat their opposition by 2 goals to nil. D. Dissanayake stepped up for the Thomians’ once again to score both goals in the final half to secure their win.

>>Click here for more Hockey news<<